Zesty Penne, Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this last night and it was really good and made a ton of food. I did change a few things though so I put the changes below. I used hot Italian sausage instead of regular. After crumbling it, frying and draining I added 3 diced bell peppers (1 each red, yellow, and orange), about a cup of diced yellow onion, and 5 cloves of garlic minced. I cooked those until the peppers were soft tender, about 5-10 minutes on medium. Then I added 1 can each of diced tomatoes, tomato sauce (the 8 oz can), and tomato paste. I also tossed in some oregano, black pepper and red pepper flakes to taste. Mix together and let simmer for about 5 minutes. Then add 4 ounces cream cheese. Melt and mix thoroughly. Toss sauce and pasta together. This way was so good my boyfriend wants it in the regular rotation. It was a tiny bit spicy (but I liked that) so you may want to hold off on the red pepper flakes and have each person add those to their liking. I only gave it four stars because I modified it to make my own spaghetti sauce instead of the jarred version. And dicing all those veggies is a lot of work when you need a new chef's knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Made this tonight - it was a big hit! I didn't have plain spaghetti sauce, just vodka sauce, so I only added a little bit of cream cheese (~2 oz.). It was a great meal and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Ok, so I didn't follow exactly...halved the meat and kept the cream cheese the same...was creamy and hubby liked it! I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was just OK. It turned out really sweet. I used Prego sauce so maybe that was it, but I wish it would have been a little zippier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
My son and I had this the first day of us "Batching" it because Mom and Daughter were away. My son's reaction was overwhelming. It's probably the best pasta dish he's ever eaten. It only gets better the second and third day. He said; "we need to have more of these kinds of dishes". One star for Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingzaloft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
So quick and asy. Absolutely delicious. Definitely as repeat for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Not a thing zesty about this mush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I made this last night, I was somewhat hesitant about adding the cream cheese, after I tasted it before it melted in the pan, it tasted too rich, therefore I removed what had not been melted. It tastes much better without the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjacks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Easy & Delicious....this is the kind of recipe that I truly enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is absolutely wonderful! I didn't have fennel seed, so left it out and substituted tomato sauce and Italian seasoning for the spagetti sauce. My husband was begging for more! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States