Zesty Penne, Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
We used hot ground italian sausage and then omitted the crushed red pepper flakes, it was great!! I might add more fennel next time... Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Awesome recipe! My sister showed me this and she uses a whole block of 1/3 less fat cream cheese...makes it SOOOOOO GOOOD....we like to give this to our boyfriends with the penne, and we eat our sausage/sauce with crusty french bread ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
this recipe was GREAT!!! i didn't have fennel seed so i substituted rosemary and it gave the sauce a savory, delicious taste! i also threw some asparagus in with the peppers and they both cooked up really well. i will definitely make this dish again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HilaryCooks4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
My husband and I love this recipe we have used it on our date nights, it is so easy and quick and date night quality! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My Husband and I LOVED this recipe!!! I think it is the best pasta that we have ever made. We added garlic and onion with the peppers (as per other reviews). The 2 older kids did not love it but the 2 years old did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
My husband loves it when I make this dish. Super good and super, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this last night and it was really good and made a ton of food. I did change a few things though so I put the changes below. I used hot Italian sausage instead of regular. After crumbling it, frying and draining I added 3 diced bell peppers (1 each red, yellow, and orange), about a cup of diced yellow onion, and 5 cloves of garlic minced. I cooked those until the peppers were soft tender, about 5-10 minutes on medium. Then I added 1 can each of diced tomatoes, tomato sauce (the 8 oz can), and tomato paste. I also tossed in some oregano, black pepper and red pepper flakes to taste. Mix together and let simmer for about 5 minutes. Then add 4 ounces cream cheese. Melt and mix thoroughly. Toss sauce and pasta together. This way was so good my boyfriend wants it in the regular rotation. It was a tiny bit spicy (but I liked that) so you may want to hold off on the red pepper flakes and have each person add those to their liking. I only gave it four stars because I modified it to make my own spaghetti sauce instead of the jarred version. And dicing all those veggies is a lot of work when you need a new chef's knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Made this tonight - it was a big hit! I didn't have plain spaghetti sauce, just vodka sauce, so I only added a little bit of cream cheese (~2 oz.). It was a great meal and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Ok, so I didn't follow exactly...halved the meat and kept the cream cheese the same...was creamy and hubby liked it! I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States