Zesty Penne, Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this last night and it was really good and made a ton of food. I did change a few things though so I put the changes below. I used hot Italian sausage instead of regular. After crumbling it, frying and draining I added 3 diced bell peppers (1 each red, yellow, and orange), about a cup of diced yellow onion, and 5 cloves of garlic minced. I cooked those until the peppers were soft tender, about 5-10 minutes on medium. Then I added 1 can each of diced tomatoes, tomato sauce (the 8 oz can), and tomato paste. I also tossed in some oregano, black pepper and red pepper flakes to taste. Mix together and let simmer for about 5 minutes. Then add 4 ounces cream cheese. Melt and mix thoroughly. Toss sauce and pasta together. This way was so good my boyfriend wants it in the regular rotation. It was a tiny bit spicy (but I liked that) so you may want to hold off on the red pepper flakes and have each person add those to their liking. I only gave it four stars because I modified it to make my own spaghetti sauce instead of the jarred version. And dicing all those veggies is a lot of work when you need a new chef's knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OODLES_OR
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
OMG....you have to try to this recipe. Sooooo simple and good! I did the recipe as stated except for the red pepper flakes. I don't like spicy anything but DH added it to his serving. We both were ooohing and aaahing over this. I don't care for fennel seed either but it definitely added a nice flavor. Will be making this one over and over. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was really very good and easy to prepare! I didn't change anything except I forgot to put the parmesan cheese on it at the end, but it was good without it! I figured we could add our own parmesan cheese to our servings if we wanted to. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
My son and I had this the first day of us "Batching" it because Mom and Daughter were away. My son's reaction was overwhelming. It's probably the best pasta dish he's ever eaten. It only gets better the second and third day. He said; "we need to have more of these kinds of dishes". One star for Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingzaloft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is absolutely wonderful! I didn't have fennel seed, so left it out and substituted tomato sauce and Italian seasoning for the spagetti sauce. My husband was begging for more! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I was looking for a sausage casserole recipe when I came across this...what a surprise. This was super delicious & easy to make. Since I didn't have a red pepper, I used 1-1/2 green peppers, a small onion & used spaghetti sauce w/ garlic. Everyone went back for seconds...definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Quick, easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious!! This is the first meal my boyfriend and I have cooked up together and we were both very impressed with ourselves with the end result :] Its funny that this recipe is posted by Philadelphia Cream Cheese because we didn't put any in it! Instead, to make it more cheesy we put as many crumbles of feta on top as we wanted. OH SO GOOD! Great recipe for experimenting with different veggies/sauces/cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDue142ndYear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
So quick and asy. Absolutely delicious. Definitely as repeat for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great recipe. Great dish. I didn't do anything different except I used whole grain rotini instead of penne - very filling and satisfying - and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States