Zesty Penne, Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I left out the red pepper and substituted for onions. I also left out the fennel since I didn't have any and used reduced fat cream cheese. This recipe is a good, healthier substitute for other cream tomato sauces that use heavy cream as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My husband and I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
We used hot ground italian sausage and then omitted the crushed red pepper flakes, it was great!! I might add more fennel next time... Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Awesome recipe! My sister showed me this and she uses a whole block of 1/3 less fat cream cheese...makes it SOOOOOO GOOOD....we like to give this to our boyfriends with the penne, and we eat our sausage/sauce with crusty french bread ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
this recipe was GREAT!!! i didn't have fennel seed so i substituted rosemary and it gave the sauce a savory, delicious taste! i also threw some asparagus in with the peppers and they both cooked up really well. i will definitely make this dish again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HilaryCooks4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
My husband and I love this recipe we have used it on our date nights, it is so easy and quick and date night quality! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My Husband and I LOVED this recipe!!! I think it is the best pasta that we have ever made. We added garlic and onion with the peppers (as per other reviews). The 2 older kids did not love it but the 2 years old did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
My husband loves it when I make this dish. Super good and super, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this last night and it was really good and made a ton of food. I did change a few things though so I put the changes below. I used hot Italian sausage instead of regular. After crumbling it, frying and draining I added 3 diced bell peppers (1 each red, yellow, and orange), about a cup of diced yellow onion, and 5 cloves of garlic minced. I cooked those until the peppers were soft tender, about 5-10 minutes on medium. Then I added 1 can each of diced tomatoes, tomato sauce (the 8 oz can), and tomato paste. I also tossed in some oregano, black pepper and red pepper flakes to taste. Mix together and let simmer for about 5 minutes. Then add 4 ounces cream cheese. Melt and mix thoroughly. Toss sauce and pasta together. This way was so good my boyfriend wants it in the regular rotation. It was a tiny bit spicy (but I liked that) so you may want to hold off on the red pepper flakes and have each person add those to their liking. I only gave it four stars because I modified it to make my own spaghetti sauce instead of the jarred version. And dicing all those veggies is a lot of work when you need a new chef's knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States