Zesty Marinated Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I made this for Easter with ham and cheddar potatoes and everyone loved it. I just sent the recipe to two people who requested it. Don't skip the lemon zest part. It adds to the flavor and a great presentation. I let the asparagus marinate overnight as I like to do as much prep in advance as possible. I also blanched for longer than one minute...maybe 3 minutes...as my asparagus was not thin. I didn't serve the balsamic vinegar on the side. It really didn't need it. Overall, a healthy, easy low fat recipe. I'll repeat it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This was awesome! No one in my family expected to like this, even me, but it was really great. Very different and unique. It was simple to make and looked absolutely beautiful on the platter with the lemon zest on top (for prettiest results, sprinkle lemon zest on after parsley, salt and pepper). I can't wait to serve this for my healthy-eating aunt; she'll be in Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
It was allright. Nothing you can't do with packaged Italian dressing. Also, keep in mind that two pounds of asparagus is a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I have never EVER liked asparagus before but decided to give it another try as I am on a hypoallergenic diet and am in need of some ideas. I used "Mama's Balsamic" dressing off this site as the marinade. It was soooo tasty. I am so glad I found this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Great recipe for a veggie I usually add butter, salt and pepper. I used Ken's bottled light olive oil vinagrette and added balsamic vinegar...My family thought it was a tasty take on asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I think this would have been better for me if I had used a better balsamic vinaigrette dressing? I didn't really like eating them cold, either. I gave 4 stars b/c I didn't realize how easy it was to cook asparagus perfectly! Next time I will blanch and then seal in bag with soy sauce, salt, pepper, parsley and then cook them a little in a dry pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is my favorite way to cook asparagus....hands down. I have eaten it both cold, as directed, as well as grilling or roasting the asparagus after marinating it for some time. All ways are good - thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I didn't eat these, my husband beat me to it. He found them marinating in the fridge and gobbled up half of them at once. I only made a half batch. He finished off the rest a few hours later. I never did add the lemon zest or salt or parsley, but I'm assuming the vinaigrette is what gives it the most flavor anyway. Gotta give these five stars because hubby loved them so much, also he said they'd be great in a bloody mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
WONDERFUL!!! I made with my own mixture of balsamic, olive oil, dijon mustard, basil and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a nice addition to a fried chicken, mashed potato, and gravy meal. I used a 2.5 lb bunch of asparagus I bought from Sam's and I did not add salt or parsley. I marinated it overnight and took it to the family get together of 17 people. I did add the lemon zest and pepper before serving. Everyone raved about it and there were no leftovers! Even my sister-in-law who doesn't like asparagus said she liked this. It is a great, easy, make ahead side dish. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States