Zesty Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Great recipe! I froze a loaf, we'll see how it does later. But very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This halved well. I made it in a 9x5x3 loaf pan, and it didn't seem like enough batter, so I also reduced the baking time to 45 minutes. Perfectly moist. Next time for a higher looking loaf, I'll use my smaller pan and increase the time to what the recipe suggests. For the glaze, I chose to bump it up with some grated frozen ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeonDials
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Simple to put together and as darned near close to perfect as can be created! I was aiming for maximum lemon flavor without using the glaze, so in place of Grand Marnier I used limoncello, which was right on target. This isn't what I'd describe as a true pound cake, which follows the 1:1:1 ratio (one pound each flour, sugar and eggs, with no leavening,) either in ingredients or texture. The crumb is far more delicate, and it's more airy than a traditional pound cake. It's actually a very refined, complex product. What it does share in common with a pound cake is how moist it is. Because of the baking powder, the moistness is there, with no trace of heaviness. Because I'm diabetic, I skipped the additional sugar that the glaze would have added, and it was never missed. The result was full of fresh lemon flavor. If you have limoncello, an Italian lemon liqueur (I always keep a bottle in the freezer. Makes a fabulous summer aperatif!) I heartily recommend using it in place of the Grand Marnier, which although most likely delicious too, lends an orange flavor. I aimed to underscore, not distract from, the lemony taste. Topped the cake with home made strawberry ice cream, and it was a dessert fit to make Escoffier weep!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This is the best recipe I have tried for lemon cake. The texture is velvety smooth and the taste is absolutely spot on. Just the right amount of lemon. Follow the recipe exactly, especially the Grand Marnier (it's worth the splurge). If you like lemon cake, you'll be in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Used Yogurt instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was a moist and delicious cake. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the buttermilk. I only had about half of what was required so I used sour cream to make up the rest. The glaze seemed like it was pretty sweet so I used more lemon juice for that tart tang I was looking for. The cake stuck a little bit when I tried to remove it from the pan. Next time I will use parchment paper to bake the cake and use it to cradle the cake as I lift it out of the pan. I think this would also be wonderful with blueberries mixed in or possibly a blueberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
There are 5-star recipes, and then there are FIVE STAR recipes. This is a FIVE STAR recipe. Oh my goodness, what a treat! Moist and lemony and exquisitely delicious. I used a combination of lemons and limes to use what I had on hand and Limoncello for the Grand Marnier (Triple Sec would have been a fine substitute too!) I did add the ginger as directed, but quite honestly neither Hubs nor I could detect it. As for the syrupy drizzle, I boiled the lemon juice/ sugar mixture for a couple of minutes to make sure the sugar was dissolved. Man oh man, that cake soaked that right up! (I brushed it over the cake, little by little, with a pastry brush) No wonder it was so good and sweet and sinfully moist and lemony! But I didn't stop there. The cake looked half-dressed, and looked like it could use some accessorizing. So I made a powdered sugar glaze with about a cup of powdered sugar and enough lemon juice and milk to make it about the consistency of thick Elmer's Glue, and then gave it a few shavings of fresh grated lemon zest. I swear that took it right over the top. Hubs and I had a little taste of the cake and I was proud to give the rest away to some friends in Naples. We were told it completely disappeared in a matter of a few minutes. I promised those who weren't lucky enough to get any I'd be back with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I decided to make this an orange pound loaf by substituting the lemon zest and juice with orange zest and juice, and omitted the ground ginger entirely. I also substituted orange juice in making the glaze. This worked out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
love it , melts on ur mouth , i added 3 teaspoon of poppy seeds .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Made 2 batches today and love the taste and texture. There may be a possible error in the recipe or I am totally misreading it. I can not find where it says to add the ginger. I accidentally left it out of the first batch. The second batch, I added it to the dry mixture. The GINGER is a must! It really adds that extra touch. So 4 stars with no ginger, 5 stars when you add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Paramount, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States