Zesty Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This bread came out as a lovely pound cake. I did add to the batter 2 1/2 tablespoons of zest and 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice, and used milk soured with lemon juice instead of buttermilk. I did not add any alcohol or ginger. If using a dark-colored loaf pan, lower the temperature by 25 degrees as I did and bake a little longer. I used a food processor with dough attachment to mix the dough, alternating some of the dry and wet ingredients as advised in other comments. As for the glaze, I made the mistake of using the full 1/2 cup lemon juice and then added confectioner sugar (recipe should be corrected). I added about a cup of sugar, and it was still quite sour. I would recommend using less lemon juice. A glaze is quite important to finishing the taste of this cake. Without it, the cake is fairly uninteresting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I made this recipe three times in less than a month for different events. Each time it was devoured. The first two times I followed the recipe exactly. The third time I heated the glaze on the stovetop before I poured it over the loaves. I personally liked it a little more with the glaze heated, but my husband said he liked it equally either way. Wonderful recipe that I will use over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I have made this several times. Warning: it's very hard to stop with 1 small piece. I always use "soured" milk instead of buttermilk, and the past two times I have subbed Triple Sec for Grand Marnier (thought that would go over better than the Blue Curacao orange liqueur I had). Since this makes 2 loaves, I usually put the second one in the freezer (well wrapped), and have something to pull out for a last minute dinner invite or potluck. I think it may be even better when it defrosts - more lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Great recipe! I froze a loaf, we'll see how it does later. But very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This halved well. I made it in a 9x5x3 loaf pan, and it didn't seem like enough batter, so I also reduced the baking time to 45 minutes. Perfectly moist. Next time for a higher looking loaf, I'll use my smaller pan and increase the time to what the recipe suggests. For the glaze, I chose to bump it up with some grated frozen ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeonDials
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Simple to put together and as darned near close to perfect as can be created! I was aiming for maximum lemon flavor without using the glaze, so in place of Grand Marnier I used limoncello, which was right on target. This isn't what I'd describe as a true pound cake, which follows the 1:1:1 ratio (one pound each flour, sugar and eggs, with no leavening,) either in ingredients or texture. The crumb is far more delicate, and it's more airy than a traditional pound cake. It's actually a very refined, complex product. What it does share in common with a pound cake is how moist it is. Because of the baking powder, the moistness is there, with no trace of heaviness. Because I'm diabetic, I skipped the additional sugar that the glaze would have added, and it was never missed. The result was full of fresh lemon flavor. If you have limoncello, an Italian lemon liqueur (I always keep a bottle in the freezer. Makes a fabulous summer aperatif!) I heartily recommend using it in place of the Grand Marnier, which although most likely delicious too, lends an orange flavor. I aimed to underscore, not distract from, the lemony taste. Topped the cake with home made strawberry ice cream, and it was a dessert fit to make Escoffier weep!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This is the best recipe I have tried for lemon cake. The texture is velvety smooth and the taste is absolutely spot on. Just the right amount of lemon. Follow the recipe exactly, especially the Grand Marnier (it's worth the splurge). If you like lemon cake, you'll be in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Used Yogurt instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was a moist and delicious cake. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the buttermilk. I only had about half of what was required so I used sour cream to make up the rest. The glaze seemed like it was pretty sweet so I used more lemon juice for that tart tang I was looking for. The cake stuck a little bit when I tried to remove it from the pan. Next time I will use parchment paper to bake the cake and use it to cradle the cake as I lift it out of the pan. I think this would also be wonderful with blueberries mixed in or possibly a blueberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
There are 5-star recipes, and then there are FIVE STAR recipes. This is a FIVE STAR recipe. Oh my goodness, what a treat! Moist and lemony and exquisitely delicious. I used a combination of lemons and limes to use what I had on hand and Limoncello for the Grand Marnier (Triple Sec would have been a fine substitute too!) I did add the ginger as directed, but quite honestly neither Hubs nor I could detect it. As for the syrupy drizzle, I boiled the lemon juice/ sugar mixture for a couple of minutes to make sure the sugar was dissolved. Man oh man, that cake soaked that right up! (I brushed it over the cake, little by little, with a pastry brush) No wonder it was so good and sweet and sinfully moist and lemony! But I didn't stop there. The cake looked half-dressed, and looked like it could use some accessorizing. So I made a powdered sugar glaze with about a cup of powdered sugar and enough lemon juice and milk to make it about the consistency of thick Elmer's Glue, and then gave it a few shavings of fresh grated lemon zest. I swear that took it right over the top. Hubs and I had a little taste of the cake and I was proud to give the rest away to some friends in Naples. We were told it completely disappeared in a matter of a few minutes. I promised those who weren't lucky enough to get any I'd be back with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States