Zesty Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I decided to make this an orange pound loaf by substituting the lemon zest and juice with orange zest and juice, and omitted the ground ginger entirely. I also substituted orange juice in making the glaze. This worked out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
There are 5-star recipes, and then there are FIVE STAR recipes. This is a FIVE STAR recipe. Oh my goodness, what a treat! Moist and lemony and exquisitely delicious. I used a combination of lemons and limes to use what I had on hand and Limoncello for the Grand Marnier (Triple Sec would have been a fine substitute too!) I did add the ginger as directed, but quite honestly neither Hubs nor I could detect it. As for the syrupy drizzle, I boiled the lemon juice/ sugar mixture for a couple of minutes to make sure the sugar was dissolved. Man oh man, that cake soaked that right up! (I brushed it over the cake, little by little, with a pastry brush) No wonder it was so good and sweet and sinfully moist and lemony! But I didn't stop there. The cake looked half-dressed, and looked like it could use some accessorizing. So I made a powdered sugar glaze with about a cup of powdered sugar and enough lemon juice and milk to make it about the consistency of thick Elmer's Glue, and then gave it a few shavings of fresh grated lemon zest. I swear that took it right over the top. Hubs and I had a little taste of the cake and I was proud to give the rest away to some friends in Naples. We were told it completely disappeared in a matter of a few minutes. I promised those who weren't lucky enough to get any I'd be back with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I made this for a pot luck as a dessert. I dressed it up with crystalized grpaes and tangerines...so nice! My husband told me it was the best cake as it is not too sweet or tart...just right. Others have asked me for the recipe, so I say it is a winner! Easy to make and it stays fresh for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This recipe turned out GREAT. The loaf pans should be 9x5. I used 8x4 pans and used the extra batter for cupcakes. For one loaf I added poppyseeds and the other half I add partially thawed mango. I just furthur cubed the large frozen mango cubes that I had partially thawed (hard frozen mango is impossible to chop). I used ammaretto instead of orange liqueur and used sour cream thinned out with milk for the buttermilk I didn't have. The lemon glaze on top adds alot of sparkle to the loaves. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was a great and different loaf to try! Very easy, had lots of wonderful, natural smells and looks beautiful! I agree with some reviewers, that you don't need near as much lemon juice for the glaze but otherwise it was perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I goofed the first couple of times and used regular white sugar not confectioners sugar; the clear glaze soaked into the loaf. Then wrapping it with plastic wrap allowed the loaf to absorb the sweet glaze. Still have not added the Grand Marnier because I thought it was too much to pay for 2 tbsp of flavor. Now that I've made the recipe at least a dozen times I wish I had tried the liquor. I will use powdered sugar and the liquor next. But always end up making more loafs to use up the buttermilk. I like the consistency when in a 9" rather than 8" pan. The best part is serving it with a lemon gelato and fresh blueberries and raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehall, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My husband LOVED this bread. I had a few blueberries in the frig so I added them to the batter. So good - it is a good thing this recipe made two loaves! Used 9 by 5 inch bread pans for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Huber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Exactly what I was looking for. I think its very close to a pound cake consistancy. Very versitale, I had to make changes since I didn't have all the ingredients. Didn't have orange liquer so I used lemon juice instead. Used ground ginger and added it to the wet ingredients. I reduced the lemon juice in the icing, and added milk. Powder sugar was probably what was intended when listed as "white" sugar. Excellent cake! Light ginger taste goes very well will the zesty lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I was so pleased with the results! I took others' advice and added lemon juice to the batter. It makes the buttermilk curdle, but that's ok, as it all evens out when you mix with the dry ingredients. I also added a cap-full of almond extract, and omitted the liqueur as I didn't have any. I halved the recipe because I only wanted one loaf. Definitely a keeper! Not too dry, but not too moist, either. Not too sweet, not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dundas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I've made this several times now and absolutely love it. I always half the mixture and instead of the liqueur I just use a couple spoons of lemon juice. I've also made it using milk instead of buttermilk as I had none left and added a spoon of lemon juice to the milk 10 mins before using and I didn't notice a difference to the taste or consistency. The volumes of lemon juice and icing sugar in the recipe didn't work for me. I just slowly added a few tablespoons of the lemon juice to make the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States