Zesty Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Oh my god. I made this for the first time, with a few changes, and the result was INCREDIBLE. Melt-in-your-mouth texture, tender... mmmm. I reduced sugar to 2/3 cup, and beat the butter (yes, butter) for 3mins, sugar for 3 mins, eggs + extracts (vanilla, almond, orange)for 3 mins, (used sour cream instead of buttermilk) and then added the final ingredients- plus I alternated between flour mixture and liquid beginning with flour mixture. (the flour, salt, baking powder) I guarentee my mixing method will work. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
There are 5-star recipes, and then there are FIVE STAR recipes. This is a FIVE STAR recipe. Oh my goodness, what a treat! Moist and lemony and exquisitely delicious. I used a combination of lemons and limes to use what I had on hand and Limoncello for the Grand Marnier (Triple Sec would have been a fine substitute too!) I did add the ginger as directed, but quite honestly neither Hubs nor I could detect it. As for the syrupy drizzle, I boiled the lemon juice/ sugar mixture for a couple of minutes to make sure the sugar was dissolved. Man oh man, that cake soaked that right up! (I brushed it over the cake, little by little, with a pastry brush) No wonder it was so good and sweet and sinfully moist and lemony! But I didn't stop there. The cake looked half-dressed, and looked like it could use some accessorizing. So I made a powdered sugar glaze with about a cup of powdered sugar and enough lemon juice and milk to make it about the consistency of thick Elmer's Glue, and then gave it a few shavings of fresh grated lemon zest. I swear that took it right over the top. Hubs and I had a little taste of the cake and I was proud to give the rest away to some friends in Naples. We were told it completely disappeared in a matter of a few minutes. I promised those who weren't lucky enough to get any I'd be back with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Made 2 batches today and love the taste and texture. There may be a possible error in the recipe or I am totally misreading it. I can not find where it says to add the ginger. I accidentally left it out of the first batch. The second batch, I added it to the dry mixture. The GINGER is a must! It really adds that extra touch. So 4 stars with no ginger, 5 stars when you add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This recipe turned out GREAT. The loaf pans should be 9x5. I used 8x4 pans and used the extra batter for cupcakes. For one loaf I added poppyseeds and the other half I add partially thawed mango. I just furthur cubed the large frozen mango cubes that I had partially thawed (hard frozen mango is impossible to chop). I used ammaretto instead of orange liqueur and used sour cream thinned out with milk for the buttermilk I didn't have. The lemon glaze on top adds alot of sparkle to the loaves. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I made this for a pot luck as a dessert. I dressed it up with crystalized grpaes and tangerines...so nice! My husband told me it was the best cake as it is not too sweet or tart...just right. Others have asked me for the recipe, so I say it is a winner! Easy to make and it stays fresh for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
love it , melts on ur mouth , i added 3 teaspoon of poppy seeds .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was a tasty cake with lots of lemon flavor. Adults will probably enjoy it more than children, because it's pretty tangy. It's a bit lighter than a pound cake, but heavier than a regular cake. I used 1 cup of milk mixed with 1/4 c. lemon juice, as I didn't have any buttermilk. Also, the glaze was WAY too thin--I think a tablespoon of lemon juice would have been enough. I put a little of the glaze (I thickened it with lots more powdered sugar)on while the cake was warm and added a bit more when it had cooled. This way some soaked in, and some remained on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Exactly what I was looking for. I think its very close to a pound cake consistancy. Very versitale, I had to make changes since I didn't have all the ingredients. Didn't have orange liquer so I used lemon juice instead. Used ground ginger and added it to the wet ingredients. I reduced the lemon juice in the icing, and added milk. Powder sugar was probably what was intended when listed as "white" sugar. Excellent cake! Light ginger taste goes very well will the zesty lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My husband LOVED this bread. I had a few blueberries in the frig so I added them to the batter. So good - it is a good thing this recipe made two loaves! Used 9 by 5 inch bread pans for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Huber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a nice basic lemon loaf recipe. The buttermilk makes it very tangy. Definitely a great starter. I wanted an easy recipe and I got it. I like a super strong lemon flavor, so I added a half cup of lemon juice straight to the batter, and to make it extra moist a package of lemon pudding/pie filling. I omitted the alcohol and I don't think it tasted like it was lacking anything. I would like to make it again using blueberries and a cream cheese icing, I think that would be great! For this amount of batter I used it to make two 8x4 loaves for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States