Zesty Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I made this for a pot luck as a dessert. I dressed it up with crystalized grpaes and tangerines...so nice! My husband told me it was the best cake as it is not too sweet or tart...just right. Others have asked me for the recipe, so I say it is a winner! Easy to make and it stays fresh for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This recipe turned out GREAT. The loaf pans should be 9x5. I used 8x4 pans and used the extra batter for cupcakes. For one loaf I added poppyseeds and the other half I add partially thawed mango. I just furthur cubed the large frozen mango cubes that I had partially thawed (hard frozen mango is impossible to chop). I used ammaretto instead of orange liqueur and used sour cream thinned out with milk for the buttermilk I didn't have. The lemon glaze on top adds alot of sparkle to the loaves. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a nice basic lemon loaf recipe. The buttermilk makes it very tangy. Definitely a great starter. I wanted an easy recipe and I got it. I like a super strong lemon flavor, so I added a half cup of lemon juice straight to the batter, and to make it extra moist a package of lemon pudding/pie filling. I omitted the alcohol and I don't think it tasted like it was lacking anything. I would like to make it again using blueberries and a cream cheese icing, I think that would be great! For this amount of batter I used it to make two 8x4 loaves for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Oh my god. I made this for the first time, with a few changes, and the result was INCREDIBLE. Melt-in-your-mouth texture, tender... mmmm. I reduced sugar to 2/3 cup, and beat the butter (yes, butter) for 3mins, sugar for 3 mins, eggs + extracts (vanilla, almond, orange)for 3 mins, (used sour cream instead of buttermilk) and then added the final ingredients- plus I alternated between flour mixture and liquid beginning with flour mixture. (the flour, salt, baking powder) I guarentee my mixing method will work. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I've just finished baking this and haven't actually tasted it yet, but it smells pretty good! Two problems with the recipe... it calls for ginger in the ingredients, but doesn't mention it in the directions. I had fresh ginger on hand so added it with the wet ingredients. The other possible problem is the second amount of sugar says "white sugar" so that's what I used, white granulated sugar, same as in the main recipe. I think it was supposed to be icing sugar though, judging by the photograph! I didn't need nearly that much sweet lemon juice - maybe half. It perhaps would be different if it was icing sugar...??? Can't wait to try it anyway! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was a great and different loaf to try! Very easy, had lots of wonderful, natural smells and looks beautiful! I agree with some reviewers, that you don't need near as much lemon juice for the glaze but otherwise it was perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was a tasty cake with lots of lemon flavor. Adults will probably enjoy it more than children, because it's pretty tangy. It's a bit lighter than a pound cake, but heavier than a regular cake. I used 1 cup of milk mixed with 1/4 c. lemon juice, as I didn't have any buttermilk. Also, the glaze was WAY too thin--I think a tablespoon of lemon juice would have been enough. I put a little of the glaze (I thickened it with lots more powdered sugar)on while the cake was warm and added a bit more when it had cooled. This way some soaked in, and some remained on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I goofed the first couple of times and used regular white sugar not confectioners sugar; the clear glaze soaked into the loaf. Then wrapping it with plastic wrap allowed the loaf to absorb the sweet glaze. Still have not added the Grand Marnier because I thought it was too much to pay for 2 tbsp of flavor. Now that I've made the recipe at least a dozen times I wish I had tried the liquor. I will use powdered sugar and the liquor next. But always end up making more loafs to use up the buttermilk. I like the consistency when in a 9" rather than 8" pan. The best part is serving it with a lemon gelato and fresh blueberries and raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehall, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My husband LOVED this bread. I had a few blueberries in the frig so I added them to the batter. So good - it is a good thing this recipe made two loaves! Used 9 by 5 inch bread pans for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Huber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The glaze was the best part of this recipe, and I will definitely use that again on another lemon cake. However, the cake was just okay, and I didn't get any "zesty" at all. Couldn't taste the acidity of the buttermilk, the flavor of the Grand Marinier, or the ginger's zing. I had high hopes, but it is actually kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenpear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States