Zesty Italian Crescent Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was good, but if I didn't tweek it, it would have been bland. I added some italian seasoning and red wine to the ground beef as it cooked. I used gouda cheese instead of jack or mozzarella, and asiago instead of parmesan. This brought the flavor up and we really liked it. Be sure to drain the beef well, or it could be watery in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
We used a 9 x 13 baking dish. My only problem with this is I want to find a way to put a crust on the bottom. I think adding a bottom crust would be awesome. We kind of jazzed up the meat mixture using: Italian suasage, sliced black olives, chopped pepperoni, a good amount of Italian seasonings and more onion. It was wonderful and if you let your imagination run amuk, the possibilities are endless. I think it would taste great with a Mexican flavor. We will centainly prepare this again and do some serious thinking about alternative ingredients. Someone said it is such a great basic recipe just begging for jazzing up. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very easy to make! I added green peppers & mushrooms to the beef/pasta sauce to add a little something extra. I also had a garlic butter spread that I melted & added to the parmesan for the top. This got 6 thumbs up in my house - a rare achievement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I don't like beef too often, so I used spicy Italian sausage as my meat. I saw a few other people comment that it was bland, but with the spicy Italian sausage, it was flavorful and had a nice kick to it. The sour cream really added a nice, cooling touch. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
i rigged this recipe and is STILL turned out great! (my bf was very impressed) i just used whatever cheese i had in the house, i think it was a mix of mexican, cheddar and fresh parm with the sour cream (had to use some onion soup/sour cream chip dip mixure cuz i didnt have enough reg sour cream). I think next time i make this ill add come green peppers and corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skamer23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevensville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was suprisingly very good. I will make this again because this is a great base recipe to tweak. I did add sliced crimini mushrooms and 2 cloves of minced garlic, because, in my mind, Italian screams garlic. Instead of parmesan on the top with the butter, I used grated Reggianito because that's what I had on hand. The variations that you can come up with using this recipe are completely endless. Thank you, Pillsbury...you guys have a winner with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is one of those great jumping off recipes. The ingredients did not offer enough for our taste so I tweaked it with good results. I added a couple links of sweet italian sausage to the ground beef. I also added my homemade pizza sauce to richen the pasta sauce. I then added a generous 2 cups of mozzarella and skipped the sour cream because I was out. Sparky said it taste like an upside down pizza. Have fun playing with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I really needed to add more spices for my family. Garlic, red pepper flakes, seasoned salt and more pasta sauce (used our favorite). Still didn't help very much. No raves, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
quick and easy.I put 1\4 cup red pepper,diced fine,in with the onion.Turned out great.You know it's good when they want seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dwight, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Super ez and tasty. Like many others, I added bell pepper and a few red pepper flakes for a little more zest. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States