Zesty Italian Crescent Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is what you call comfort food! When my kids were little, this is exactly what they would have liked me to fix. I made this using Exquisite Pizza Sauce from this site which added lots of flavor to this meal. I did have a hard time getting the middle of the top to brown--maybe because my dish was too deep for the ingredients. It would have worked OK had I been a pie baker and had those gadgets that keep the edges of a pie from burning before the middle gets done. The parmesan I used was a pellet-type Kraft cheese that made mine look even paler. But I took pieces of this to work to heat up for my lunch and enjoyed it. This is an easy dish for busy moms! Thanks, Pillsbury!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made the Pillsbury recipe, Zesty Italian Crescent Casserole for dinner with my adult kids... we all loved it. I made the casserole in my cast iron skillet, right from the stove top to the oven. So easy! The kids Amber and Mick's comment was that it tastes like really good Lasagna. I'm not sure I'd take it that far... but I will make it again... and looking forward to lunch left-overs tomorrow. Just between us? It was good cold at midnight by the light of the half open fridge. lol! Really a good recipe, inexpensive, as much flavor as you want to give it and fast too. Five Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I made a double batch in a 13"x9" pan (which was just right for 1 can of crescent rolls) and fixed it close to "as is" for the first go to see what we needed to tweek, but used Mario Batali Arrabiata pasta sauce because it sounded a little plain. It wasn't much more expensive than the other sauces available, and I think it gave just enough flavor to keep it from being bland. The dish turned out great and I was asked to make it again soon. I'm thinking about using 50/50 spaghetti and alfredo sauce next time, which is what we use for spaghetti at our house. I think I'll also add some Italian seasoning and spicy Volpi sausage (from St. Louis) since one of our local stores carries it now. I've also been dabbling with the thought of using ricotta instead of sour cream. One thing to note is that I would brush on the butter, then sprinkle on the parm, so you don't end up with soggy spots in the crust. 4 stars because it needs so many changes, but it was a big hit at our house and may become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DustysMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was super good! We use dehydrated onion and added 1 1/2 italian seasoning to the meat. Also followed a reviewers advice of adding 1/4C butter and 2tbsp minced garlic to the cheese and sour cream mixture. My girls (5 and under) said it was fantastic. We'll probably do 1/2lb italian sausage and 1/2 lb hamburger next time! SOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
We really enjoyed this! I am only giving it 4 stars because as others have said, as written, the meat mixture was quite bland. I ended up using pizza sauce because I already had an opened jar in the fridge, and added garlic and salt and pepper. I think this would also have great w/ maybe some green pepper, mushrooms, pepperoni or black olives. I do agree w/ Marianne that the center underneath part was a little underdone, but other than that it was tasty! I would make this one again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
i rigged this recipe and is STILL turned out great! (my bf was very impressed) i just used whatever cheese i had in the house, i think it was a mix of mexican, cheddar and fresh parm with the sour cream (had to use some onion soup/sour cream chip dip mixure cuz i didnt have enough reg sour cream). I think next time i make this ill add come green peppers and corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skamer23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevensville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is one of those great jumping off recipes. The ingredients did not offer enough for our taste so I tweaked it with good results. I added a couple links of sweet italian sausage to the ground beef. I also added my homemade pizza sauce to richen the pasta sauce. I then added a generous 2 cups of mozzarella and skipped the sour cream because I was out. Sparky said it taste like an upside down pizza. Have fun playing with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Overall, this was a pretty good dish, but like others, I added a few seasonings to it. When browing the beef and onions, I added 2 cloves of garlic, salt & pepper to taste, and a sprinkle of seasoning salt. I used a store-bought pasta sauce with onions and mushrooms. Everything else was followed as written. The crescent rolls I used were the buttery flavor, but I think next time I'll just use the regular. I wasn't too fond of the sweet buttery taste. Thankfully the sour cream layer really helped to balance out the flavors. Hubby really liked this dish and asked me to make it again. It's very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was good, but if I didn't tweek it, it would have been bland. I added some italian seasoning and red wine to the ground beef as it cooked. I used gouda cheese instead of jack or mozzarella, and asiago instead of parmesan. This brought the flavor up and we really liked it. Be sure to drain the beef well, or it could be watery in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I don't like beef too often, so I used spicy Italian sausage as my meat. I saw a few other people comment that it was bland, but with the spicy Italian sausage, it was flavorful and had a nice kick to it. The sour cream really added a nice, cooling touch. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States