Zesty Hominy and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of hominy, but this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was my first experience with hominy and I really enjoyed it. My kids seemed to like it as well. Plus, the recipe was simple, so it was easy to throw the ingredients together and put in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Another dish I enjoyed, but husband didn't...and he's the one who bought the hominy! I didn't think I cared much for it, but this was good. Because I was making it for just 2, I only used 1 can of hominy and cut back some on the sour cream and cheese. Used the whole can of green chiles, though. I think that's what turned husband off - if it's green and unrecognizable, he doesn't like it. Period. Too bad, because, like I said, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I have enjoyed hominy in other dishes, but did not like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I thought this was just ok. Be sure to drain the hominy very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the best way to serve hominy! I'm from the south and this is wonderful! I've served it with and without the green chiles. Both versions were great. Our two year old daughter will now eat her hominy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I have used a recipe close to this one for years. My family requests it at the holidays and it goes fast. Small differences, I only use 2 cans of hominy. I also chop, fry and drain a package of bacon and onion to taste, cooked until translucent before adding. It's not short on calories, but sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Liked this recipe. Good flavor. Accidentally used can of jalapenos instead of green chili, so it was spicy. I think I will make it with jalapenos all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
this was good as written, but the next time i made it more to my liking: i used a total of 10oz. green chiles- 6 oz. mild and 4 oz. jalapeno. the first time i used a mexican blend of cheese, but prefer more cheese flavor, so the next time i used half cheddar and half the mexican blend. i drained and rinsed the hominy well. really like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by humblevoyager
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I too, grew up eating hominy. I can remember a similar family dish, so I was glad to find this simple and delicious recipe. My only adjustments were to put part of the cheese on top in the last 10 - 15 minutes and I added a little garlic to the mix. We had this with Christmas Lima beans and salad for a wonderful meatless meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by humblevoyager

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States