Zesty Garbanzo Beans with Pistachio Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This was outstanding. I reduced the amount of pistachio nuts(unsalted)to half a cup and put them in the food processor for a rough chop and flavor to go through the dish. I also reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. I had the leftovers the next day, they were great when cold too. Thanks Tensmom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I had to make a few changes to this recipe based on what I had in my kitchen. I used olive oil, red pepper flakes and dried thyme as substitutes. I also added 1 tsp garlic powder. This tastes best after it has cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I made this without the pistachio nuts as a salad topper. The flavor was excellent without being too overpowering. I liked them salty. They'd make a great snack too. Thanks! There should be more recipes with garbanzo beans/ chick peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This was very good. It was simple and easy to make. It was on the salty side so I recommend reducing the salt used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I absolutely loved this recipe and ate it everyday for lunch both hot and cold. The amount of spice is great and the pistachios are such a good addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
So different and delicious! I halved the cayenne and cumin to make it a little less spicy, but it still had heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I thought that these were really interesting, and I didn't think that I liked Garbanzo beans. Turns out they're pretty good cooked (vs. raw) and I liked the spice blend. Husband thought they were too salty so I'll try omitting that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I did not enjoy this recipe at all. The cooking time did not seem correct and the beans never got 'crispy'. The flavors of the seasonings were kind of lost. Nothing remarkable about this dish. Next time I have this many garbanzo beans I'll just make hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Easton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Yum! Used roasted salted pistachios as that was all I could find. Omitted the salt because of it. Would probably add a touch of salt in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Instead of cayenne pepper, I used chipotle pepper seasoning, and instead of fresh thyme, I used the dried ground variety. These made a tasty snack Next time I will be inclined to find fresh thyme, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States