Zesty Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I love cole slaw, especially with hot dogs or cheeseburgers. This recipe is added to my list of things to make soon. Thanks for sharing...Ginger, aka Smiley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I've made this coleslaw twice now and most recently for a potluck at work. It was devoured. I add a little extra horseradish because I like the kick it gives as well as some celery seed. With using the precut cabbage, it's super easy to prepare. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Eddy Caywood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is an excellent tasting slaw. I did, however, change it slightly. I used one cup of Miracle Whip instead of the 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 3/4 cup salad dressing mixture. Loved the horseradish flavor! The next time I make this I may try substituting celery seed for the dill weed and see how that tastes! Overall excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Branch, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Paired with pulled pork sandwiches. Good as a side or on the sandwich! Has a nice zip to it, and was even rated tasty among the anti-coleslaw guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bittersweet2382

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was a little to mayonaisy for me and the family but the flavor was nice, will definately cut back on mayo and use only 1 kind. I did only use 2 tbs of sugar and felt that was plenty probably could have used just 1 and the taste still would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
As written, this is a 4 star. I've made this many, many times and always get asked for the recipe. I find that only 1 tablespoon of sugar is plenty and instead of using Miracle Whip I just use 1 cup of real mayo. Those are the only changes and that makes for a 5-star recipe! This is such a great change (and improvement) on ho-hum basic coleslaw and though the dill and horseradish might seem a little strange, it really is delicious!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
A nice twist on coleslaw with the added zip of horseradish. I don't know what I was thinking ... but I added a bit of red cabbage to the green, and ended up with purple coleslaw after a day in the frig! However, it still tasted good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I would have to agree with the other reviews, that this recipe was too mayonaisey,even when I cut back on the mayonaise by 1/4 cup. It also did not have much flavor, so I added another tablespoon of horseradish, and added chopped red onion, which improved the flavor. Next time, I will cup back on the Miracle Whip by 1/4 cup and see if that helps it to not be so mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was a great change from bottled slaw dressing. It was a huge hit at our family picnic the only person who didnt like it was my husband because he isnt a fan of Miracle Whip. The only change I made was adding more purple cabbage & slaw mix and more horseradish. Thanks for sharing this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I wanted to try something different and this was it. I reduced the amount of mayo and miracle whip by half and used only 1 T. of horseradish, 1 t. sugar, 1 t. dill since I was wanting a lighter sauce. This was incredible and we didn't let it marinate. I think I may add some shavings of asiago cheese next time. A great base and you can adjust easily to your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States