Zesty Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
My husband said that this deserves 5 stars. I was thinking more like 4.5. It was EASY to prepare. The taste was flavorful and good. I used chicken breasts and marinated them in a ziploc bag for about 5 hours before baking. I also doubled the marinade to make sure the chicken was completely covered and so that we would have plenty of sauce with the meal. I also added carrots and extra pieces of fresh garlic. I will make it again! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This is actually really good if you marinate the chicken in the italian dressing and add some of your own flavor to it. I added a bit of red, white and black pepper to it and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I used chicken breasts and added more Italian dressing. Also, I only left it in for 45 minutes, otherwise it would have dried out. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Needed more zest - I would try using Italian dressing labeled "Zesty". I also doubled the garlic and the rosemary. I used a large baking dish. Cooking times and quaities were right on. If you like your potatoes a little crispy try removing the foil for the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I give this recipe 5 stars for the flavor return on your time investment. I was looking for a recipe like the "Chicken Italian" my mom used to make. I only made a few changes: Used chicken breasts b/c that's what I had; marinated the chicken for about 30 in. in Mojo Criollo b/c my husband really enjoys the kick; and used packaged, pre-sliced potates. To save washing a bowl, I also just sprinkled the lemon, lime, and dressing over everything before covering and baking. After 45 minutes, I sprinkled shredded Italian cheese, Italian seasoning, and baked uncovered a few minutes more. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Used chicken breast tenders and roasted red pepper with parmesan Italian dressing. Let marinate in 1/2 sauce for 30 minutes, then covered with remainder. Also skipped lime juice because I didn't have any. I loved it on the chicken but it may have been too much for the potatoes for me and my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I thought this was pretty good, add how easy it was to make and I'll be making it again. I used boneless skinless breasts, and regular Itatian dressing. I marinated the chicken in the dressing for about 40 min first. Added carrots with the potatoes (I cut small bite sized), and course ground black pepper. Then with the chicken I sprinkled on some chicken seasoning and black pepper on top. I also lined the pan with foil underneath, along with covering it. At the end I topped with shredded mozz cheese. I didn't have lime juice, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I thought this was a great, easy meal that tasted pretty good too! I left the skins on the potatoes, added baby carrots and used chicken breast. Also used the salad dressing that has oil in (not fat free) as this gives a better coating and keeps moisture & flavour in. To give this a FAB presentation and just add a little something, I served this over a bed of fresh baby spinach & rocket leaves with some halved cherry tomatoes alongside - it looked like something you order in a restaurant!! I will make this again - perhaps vary the dressing to change it a bit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I'm so sorry...It smelled good while cooking, but really did not taste good. Presentation was also not so great. Yes, browning the meat may help the looks, but can't possibly help the taste that much. Chicken was bland and potatoes were just...yuck. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Stafford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
A really great, flavorful & easy recipe! Tastes even better the next day. I did tweak it a little bit because I had no lime & just for personal preference: didn't have any lime so I squeezed a whole small lemon into it (when finished it didn't taste lemony at all). Used a bit more than a cup of dressing based on other reviews saying it wasn't enough (I'd say 1 1/2 cups is good). I also topped it all w/some smoked paprika which was REALLY good. Next time I will cut the time down to about 45 min. as my chicken was a bit on the dry side. But the leftover dressing in the 9x13 dish helped a lot with that. This recipe is too easy & good to not be a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Pollak06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States