Zesty Chicken Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was a bit dry, but I'll definitely be making it again. I added the suggested amount of breadcrumbs and nexxt time I'll either cut it in half or maybe just use 1 cup. I did add an extra tablespoon each of salsa and ranch. We topped it with sour cream, shredded lettuce, and extra salsa. My son cleaned his plate, which makes this one a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Great change of pace! I pulsed some tortilla chips in the food processor and used in place of bread crumbs. Also sautéed a diced red pepper and added that. Would have done onion too but didn't have one. Finally, served salsa verde on side. Tastes just like chicken enchiladas,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Loved this! Zesty, flavorful, and pretty low calorie. I followed many peoples suggestions, and reduced the bread crumbs to 1 cup, and increased the salsa to 1/4 cup and the ranch to 3 tbsp. I also added a large can of sliced black olives. I served it with a dollop of sour cream and a spoonful of salsa. I think next time, I will play even more. I want to try adding canned black beans, using crushed tortilla chips instead of bread crumbs, and adding minced garlic and fresh chopped cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Did not care for this all that much. Could not taste any of the spice from the taco seasoning or salsa - the breadcrumbs made it just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I'm rating this recipe 4 stars because I did not follow it as exact. I love the idea of turning a meatloaf into a taco inspired taste. So I didn't have salsa, ranch dressing or bread crumbs. Instead I used 2 lbs of ground chicken, 4 eggs, 1 1/4 cups of instant oats, fresh minced garlic, scallions, one packet of mild taco seasoning with half packet of the hot taco seasoning. In place of the ranch dressing I used sour cream and mixed everything together. I then let the meat mixture sit in the fridge for 4-5 hours before baking in the oven at 350 for an hour. Oh I also didn't use any cheese in this recipe. So in place of melting cheese on top I used a small can of tomato sauce with half can of tomato paste and sprinkled in some mild taco seasoning - to make a enchilada inspired taste. For my dish I used a 9 x 4 dish and coated with extra virgin olive oil and place down 2 Ole corn tortillas and a thin layer of my tomato sauce mixture. I then formed my loaf and topped off with the rest of my sauce on top. I served it with brown rice & black beans, steamed brussel sprouts, broccoli and cauliflower. I enjoyed this so much! Def will make this again - not sure if I'll actually make the exact recipe reference... I preferred my creation with fresher ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowhite_owls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
So good! Everyone loved it, even my 2 yr old! I added an extra tablespoon of salsa and ranch like a review suggested, perfect! I used a garlic cilantro salsa from Muir Glen and the flavor was to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I used ground up taco shells instead of breadcrumbs and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
After reading the reviews I made this using a few ideas from a few reviews. I used a kilo of ground chicken, smashed a cup of Italian croutons and crushed a cup of taco shells, minced two small onions, put in 2 tbs. of minced garlic, the taco seasoning, 2 eggs and 5 tbs. of a medium chunky salsa. I mixed together all except the dried crumbs and added those slowly till I reached the right consistency (all of them). I put 2/3 of the meat mix into a loaf pan, put the cheese on top and the last 1/3 meat mix on the top of all. Before putting it in the oven I lightly sprinkled on red pepper flakes. When I removed it from the oven at 45 minutes I poured over 1/2 of a Cambells tomato soup can mixed with 3 tbs. of salsa. Returned it to the oven for the last 15 mins. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I liked it, my family was not as happy about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States