Zesty Chicken Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
After reading the reviews I made this using a few ideas from a few reviews. I used a kilo of ground chicken, smashed a cup of Italian croutons and crushed a cup of taco shells, minced two small onions, put in 2 tbs. of minced garlic, the taco seasoning, 2 eggs and 5 tbs. of a medium chunky salsa. I mixed together all except the dried crumbs and added those slowly till I reached the right consistency (all of them). I put 2/3 of the meat mix into a loaf pan, put the cheese on top and the last 1/3 meat mix on the top of all. Before putting it in the oven I lightly sprinkled on red pepper flakes. When I removed it from the oven at 45 minutes I poured over 1/2 of a Cambells tomato soup can mixed with 3 tbs. of salsa. Returned it to the oven for the last 15 mins. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I liked it, my family was not as happy about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this for my husband and 17 year old, they are both picky eaters, I added so much more; instead of bread crumbs I used 3/4 cup baked Doritos, I put them in the food processor and made crumbs, I added 1/2 c. of regular bread crumbs, I chopped baby red,yellow, and orange bell peppers, I used 1/4 c. purple onion, smoked paprika, and instead of salsa, I used a can of roasted diced peppers. Sorry for adding more but I love peppers and onions and this recipe was transformed into my families favorite. Seasoned rice with Mexican seasoning and fresh green beans made a delicious Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious! Only changes to original were to cut bread crumbs down to 1 cup and spread additional salsa on top before baking to keep it from drying out. Served it with Goya Black Beans & Rice and a veggie...meal was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is great, I even got my picky son who eats nothing to go back for seconds, I ground up some veggies with the food processor and mixed it in bc my son won't eat veggies, he didn't even notice, I used half of the taco mix, I wld recommend to use 1 1/2 -2lbs of chicken and use ingredients according bc it does not mk much esp if ur hv a 6'7 man eating it.... I added cheese in the mix also, it was not dry at all.... Love it and will be making it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I read the reviews on this before i even made it, glad I did cause it turned out good. I used 5 Tablespoons of Salsa and 4 Tablespoons of Ranch dressing along with half packet of taco seasoning. It wasn't dry at all. Moist and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I have never cooked with ground chicken before but got some that was quite inexpensive. It seemed the majority of the recipes were burgers and I did not want that. I'm glad I chose this one. My whole family enjoyed this! I used a little bit of pepper jack in the mix itself as I had some on hand. I also used 1 cup breadcrumbs instead of 1.5 and cooked it 15 minutes less. (Good thing I did as my husband said it seemed close to dry.) We topped it with salsa. Will likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Love this recipe. It's just as good with ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I really enjoyed this easy version of meatloaf. My only change was to use ground beef. Sorry! I know thats the MAIN ingredient but for those thinking of using GB instead of chicken, I will say it turned out great anyway:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelic3432

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My family loves this recipe! We top it with sour cream and pico de gallo or salsa. I have made this with ground turkey when I can't find ground chicken. It comes out great either way. I did not give this 5 stars because I did tweak the recipe some. I double the salsa and ranch to make it come out really moist. I cut the seasoning in half since doubling the liquid ingredients add great flavor. I save the other half of the packet for when we have this loaf again. The last time I made this I tried ground tortilla chips like other users recommended and it was a flop. Still tasted great, but the texture was horrid and it was not eaten with as much enthusiasm as usual. All in all this is a great recipe and a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States