Zesty Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This recipe has swept our family and friends. Whenever we serve it the casserole is emptied. If you like carrots and enjoy the added zest of horse radish, you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is great! It is tasty and zesty. I used the full 2 tablespoons of horseradish; use less or more to your taste. I have tried similar carrot recipes, but this one was the best. I think the julienning makes a difference - I just used my potato peeler to "julienne" the carrots. Thanks Chef-Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wow, definitely will make again! I used 1 lb bag of baby carrots (julienne). I had only straight jar horseradish, so I used half as much and added 1/4c sour cream. I made the topping first, and the moisture was absorbed quickly by the breadcrumbs while I waited for the carrots to boil. Next time I will prepare the topping immediately before placing on carrots so it can "spread" easier. Served these carrots alongside slow cooker beef tips & mushrooms in wine sauce and boiled noodles. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My family has made this exact recipe for years. Everyone loves it. Here's a trick to make it easier: cut the carrots into 4 or 5 chunks and cook. The cooked carrots are soft and very easy to julienne. Takes a little longer to cook but the cutting part is much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I found it delicious, and the whole family loved it. Next time I'll double the spread (may be I used too large carrots). I don't like mayo, my husband doesn't like sour cream, so I subbed the mayo with egg yolks, and it worked fine, very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrovna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My husband and I both love horseradish and we absolutely LOVE this dish. I actually HATE carrots but I love them in the dish. It's a shame that my kids think horseradish is too spicy for them so I don't get to make it very often. Otherwise this would be on the menu weekly. Amazing and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This recipe was in my husband's family for years. Only difference was the sauce (without crumbs) was put with the carrots, and the crumbs sprinkled on top of all. We used crushed Ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
We use this recipe, but use half sour cream and half mayo. Sometimes I add a little carrot water to thin the sauce too. We love it with our home grown carrots! We top the carrots with buttered bread crumbs instead of mixing them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Nice Dish. I used a large mince instead of julliened carrots. Very creamy that way. Instead of boiling and baking (since I had no clue when dinner would be served today), we zapped the carrots in the nuke, then slipped them into a medium-small'sh sized slow cooker in which I had already mixed the sauce. Worked out very well. Sadly, my children, who hate horseradish, are still never happy when I add horseradish to potatoes or anything else, these carrots included (though they do eat at least a little - so they might learn to like it yet, after all, they do like grist now! and they used to hate them horribly). I loved the creaminess of these carrots, and my husband liked them overall, BUT, surprisingly enough, my husband, who likes more horseradish than I do, most of the time anyway, thought there was a tad too much horseradish in this particular dish! So, next time, I'll make it with a little less horseradish in the pot, but then I'll add some at the table for myself.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I used the suggestion of using more mayo since I'm not a big fan of horsey sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States