Zesty Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My family has made this exact recipe for years. Everyone loves it. Here's a trick to make it easier: cut the carrots into 4 or 5 chunks and cook. The cooked carrots are soft and very easy to julienne. Takes a little longer to cook but the cutting part is much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This sounded scrumdidly - and I followed the ingredients to the letter, but it was a total let down. I love horseradish but for some reason it totally over powered the rest of the meal (I made it with beef), and left me wanting to pick the little crumbs out of my mouth with each mouthfull. Not a good combination of textures. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This recipe is pretty good, but I believe it would be a lot better next time I make this with some changes. The taste was really good to me, others not so much. I thought the horseradish went really well with carrots. I followed this recipe exactly, I used dried breadcrumbs, not fresh. When I mixed the crumb/mayo mixture it was very dry and I couldn't spread it over the carrots at all. If using dried crumbs be sure to add more mayo until you get a mixture that is of spreading consistency. My mixture was more of a crumbly topping, which was fine, but next time I'll play around with the mayo mixture. Equal parts of mayo and crumbs just don't seem to work well if looking to spread this, as the recipe states. I will make this again with some tweaking. Thanks (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This recipe has swept our family and friends. Whenever we serve it the casserole is emptied. If you like carrots and enjoy the added zest of horse radish, you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We like these carrots with roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wow, definitely will make again! I used 1 lb bag of baby carrots (julienne). I had only straight jar horseradish, so I used half as much and added 1/4c sour cream. I made the topping first, and the moisture was absorbed quickly by the breadcrumbs while I waited for the carrots to boil. Next time I will prepare the topping immediately before placing on carrots so it can "spread" easier. Served these carrots alongside slow cooker beef tips & mushrooms in wine sauce and boiled noodles. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This recipe was in my husband's family for years. Only difference was the sauce (without crumbs) was put with the carrots, and the crumbs sprinkled on top of all. We used crushed Ritz crackers. Update: The negative comments on the horseradish seem to be from having it all sitting on top. It is milder when mixed with all the carrots, and the amount can be adjusted so there is just a hint until kids get used to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I found it delicious, and the whole family loved it. Next time I'll double the spread (may be I used too large carrots). I don't like mayo, my husband doesn't like sour cream, so I subbed the mayo with egg yolks, and it worked fine, very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrovna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
We use this recipe, but use half sour cream and half mayo. Sometimes I add a little carrot water to thin the sauce too. We love it with our home grown carrots! We top the carrots with buttered bread crumbs instead of mixing them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is great! It is tasty and zesty. I used the full 2 tablespoons of horseradish; use less or more to your taste. I have tried similar carrot recipes, but this one was the best. I think the julienning makes a difference - I just used my potato peeler to "julienne" the carrots. Thanks Chef-Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States