Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Good texture. Surprisingly they don't turn out too dense and the ricotta flavor is nice and mild. Definitely drizzle honey over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I've never made my own zeppole - but have eaten enough to know which type I like! This recipe hit the nail on the head. Tasted delicious, just like my aunt's!! To spice em up a little bit - we add some pine nuts (pinnoli) and raisins. The raisins really add a touch of sweetness. Also great when you dip them in a cinnamon & sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
YES! Now I don't have to wait to go down the shore in the summer!! These are fabulous, and I forgot the vanilla! They seem to be not quite as dense as I'm used to, but that is completely ok. I put a few in a bag and just added the powdered sugar to it, shook, and voila! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
These could not have been a bigger hit! Not only with my family, but with the neighborhood kids as well, with copies of the recipe going home to their parents. Amazingly easy. Next time, I am going to do half confec. sugar and half cinnamon sugar.. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
The only thing I changed was to mix everything without heating first. Instead, I let it sit to blend for around 30 min. They were perfect, especially for company/special occasions! Hint: Another way to serve these is by setting them on your platter, drizzling honey across the zeppole, then dusting with conf. sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I followed the recipe as directed, increasing the sugar to 1 TBS as recommended. The zeppoles were VERY light & airy. I'm giving 5 stars for a doughnut recipe everyone loved, but I have to keep searching for a zeppole recipe to duplicate the ones made in New York. Zeppoles you buy in NY are more dense/doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
They were o.k. I was expecting to taste the ricotta. It was a little on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
***** Yummy.... and oh so easy! I increased sugar as suggested by others. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
didn't care for it that much. doesn't taste like the zeppole you get in Brooklyn or at street fairs. i think this one is too eggy or something. if you coat it in confectioner's sugar the way you are supposed to, you definitely do not need to up the amount of sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are out of this World!!! They are EXCELLENT and taste alot like a cannoli and are wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States