Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
So good with cinnamon sugar and powdered sugar! I prefer the cinnamon though. We made the mistake of trying to cover an Oreo with this to make fried Oreos and they wouldn't turn on their own bc of the shape and didnt have much flavor. The reason I give this 4 stars is because it's definitely not sugary enough! Next time gonna use about a tablespoon of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I'm shocked that some chefs rated this recipe so poorly considering it is quite authentic. Ricotta is a staple in a zeppole recipe and most that I have seen call for a 1-to-1 ratio (or somewhere near that). One egg is probably enough, though we enjoyed these just fine with the two called for in the recipe. As many others have stated, a little extra sugar and vanilla are necessary in the batter; next time I will try almond extract even though that is getting away from a traditional zeppole. Overall, this a great zeppole recipe, that if tweaked just a little can stand up to any other recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Ive never eaten zeppole, but thanks to this GREAT recipe I have and my whole family loves it, I added a little more sugar to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
After reading the reviews, I decided to give these a try; I've been looking for an easy doughnut recipe, and this fits the bill! I followed everyone else's lead and added 1-2 tsp vanilla (good thing), but otherwise followed the recipe as it was. They were disappearing as quickly as I turned them out, and next time I'm going to double the recipe, since I didn't get as many as the recipe said, even though I used a teaspoon to get them bite-sized
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This recipe is easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmonaco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Although I'm not a huge doughnut fan, I loved the taste of these & they were fun to try. I did a half recipe, but used 3 tsp sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I recommend frying to a dark brown for a crispier outside. Perfect with a fresh cup of strong coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Zeppole should be light and fluffy, not cakey and dense.Ricotta???? what was that about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Excellent recipe. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I've made these before with a different recipe and actually prefer these. Totally yummy!! Made exactly as written and wouldn't change anything. No, they are not super sweet but the confectioners sugar makes up for that. Great way to use up leftover ricotta. I actually only made half a recipe and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Good but not the way I remember them from street fairs in Brooklyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States