Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Very easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olliebean
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
EXCELLENT! A few changes I made: I used 3 teaspoons of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. I rolled my zeppoles in cinnamon sugar. They are fantastic, and I could eat the whole batch! One batch made approximately 15 medium sized zeppoles. I made two batches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olliebean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was an awesome recipe! Just like the italian resturaunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These were amazing! I took the advise to add in an extra teaspoon of sugar and these were just perfect! I'm in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This recipe was easy and delicious. It's lighter than I remember at the feasts and less greasy but that's a good thing. Although I don't know where the serving size comes from, I doubled it to get about 30. Maybe mine were bigger but I prefer them this way. Also took the sugar advice and agreed, I might even add a little bit more next time. Fantastico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAD928

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I'm speechless! Seriously, I don't even know what to say about these except that I can't get my mouth to stop dancing. I've had zeppole's at friends homes and at country fairs, but have never made them myself until today. What have I been waiting for? Because I made these on a whim, I didn't have any ricotta in the house so I subbed with vanilla yogurt. Trust me folks, it worked amazingly well. I also used one tsp. of vanilla and two teaspoons of sugar. I can't wait to make these for my daughters next month! Thank you SO much for a fantastic recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe was great....I took everyones advice and used a tablespoon of sugar.....I only yielded 20 zeppoles - not 35.....THANK YOU for this wonderful recipe!! The family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great Recipe - almost exactly like my mom's except she added lemon zest to her batter. I know someone expressed "whats up with ricotta" well, zeppole's are made with ricotta if following an Italian recipe and do not have a filling in them as someone else posted. Thank you for the recipe - they were delicious and reminded me of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I have never had zeppole at a fair, but I have had funnel cake, and it really does taste like little funnel cake balls. I am so glad for reviews - I had to read them all before feeling confident enough to make these. Here are some pointers if you've never made something like this. you can use any size saucepan of oil, as long as there are at least 2 inches deep of oil. Make the oil as hot as you can without burning, but after a batch or two you'll find they cook much faster and will need to watch carefully and possibly turn the heat down. A 1/2 Tbsp is the PERFECT amount of dough - the rounder the better - they WILL turn over by themselves, but only if the batter is somewhat round in shape. I personally dont understand why you mix it in a saucepan over low heat, but it does work and it is very sticky! (you know it is ready when it sort of looks like a unified dough) I also used 1/8 cup of sugar - it seemed to be the concensus on here to use more sugar. My insides were perfect, and I think it was because of hot oil and small amounts of dough. It is a super quick and easy recipe. I would suggest serving them immediately, it is hard to keep something like this warm - maybe they'd do ok in a warm oven- I'd love any suggestions for this as they taste much better warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My son said I should win an award for these they're so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mallett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States