Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I am a professional Chef and graduate of the CIA. I now have 3 sons at home and was cooking for a rainy night "sleepover." I was looking for a fun Italian dessert to compliment spaghetti and meatballs. This recipe had the best ratings. Although Italian, I did not grow up on the authentic Zeppole, so I'm not sure what I should have expected, but I was able to churn them out to the kids in brown paper bags in no time at all. No yeast, no rest time, no mixer. "Zeppole" maybe not- easy, fun, tasty dessert? They LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Followed the suggestions of others and did the following for a 1/2 batch: no salt, 2 1/2 tsp sugar, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and I didn't cook the batter. They were GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was a nice treat. A good Italian donut. My family liked it but prefer the zeppoles i make by frying pizza dough. This recipe actually taste like fried cake to me but my mom thought it had an eggy taste(not in a bad way). I might try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These are absolutely authentic and delicious! We ate them with cinnamon/sugar and honey, but the most popular was powdered sugar. They are very similar to the light and airy Biegnets from the French Quarter in NOLA. The only thing I did differently was that I made up the batter about 2 hours before I fried the Zeppole. I just left it in the pan I had cooked the batter in. I'm not sure if this is what made them so light or just because of the recipe, but I'll definitely find out when I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
These are easy and great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Race

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
The batter stays wet inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
My rating erased :( ... it said something like "made smaller scoops like half a tablepoon and would add more sugar to it"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This recipe is truly perfect ! The only thing I did different is I added a lil more baking powder and sugar. I also added extra ricotta for moisture. The Zeppole came out exquisite ! Very, very good recipe especially for first timers. Will recommend to anyone, anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlene
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
These are great I just added extra sugar.They were gone as soon as they were done.I had to make another batch the following day. My kids just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I had these at a wonderful bakery in Seattle and my oldest child was not with us so I looked for a recipe and ended up here. All I can say is FABULOUS! I even substituted sugar-free honey and splenda in the recipe and they were awesome. Next time I am going to try making them with Coconut Flour for even less carbs. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States