Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
These were awesome! My kids devoured them. And my extremely picky BIL said they were fantastic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Suric

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I missed the instructions that said to put the ingredients in a saucepan and heat them. I just mixed them together and dropped the batter in the hot oil and they were terrific! I did increase the sugar to 1 tablespoon. After frying I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar or sprinkled with powdered sugar. They were delicious! I never had zeppolis before (what kind of an Italian am I?) but these were really good. I used a small cookie scooper which made small donut hole sized zeppolis. Perfect size to pop in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I have done these both ways, just combined the ingredients for the batter and yes they stay a little gooey inside but just a tad and are awesome. Then I did mixed them ontop low heat as per recipe and the batter does yield a "cakier" Zeppole. I like both, way too much! They defenetllybare not the same as the "festival" yeast version but scrumptious none the less. Will make these way too often for the good of the weistline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
My mother-in-law knew how to make Zeppoles when she was a little girl and was searching the web for a similar to exact recipe from her childhood. When she came upon this recipe her search had came to an end. Not only was this recipe delicious, it was easy, fast and literally cooks on its own. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Happy kookin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Agosto
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This is actually a more authentic recipe. My family is from northern Italy and this recipe using ricotta yields a very similar zeppole to what my great grandmother used to make. The yeast version is cheaper and can be left out unbaked longer, that's why it's more common. But yes, these are more cake-like than the ole brooklyn street fair vairety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made these the other night and they were beyond delicious! I have made many zeppola recipes over the years as they are a staple at Christmas! I DID make some CHANGES and we loved how they came out. The true test is how good they are the NEXT DAY! These did NOT disappoint.. Ok..Changes...I did NOT blend over heat.I added wet to dry ingredients and then fried. I added 1 1/2 c ricotta (not 1cup) and I also added 1 TABLESPOON of sugar as other reviewers suggested and loved the addition although these will not be super sweet which is nice! Fast and easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
These turned out amazing!!! I also used 1 tablespoon of sugar as others had suggested and they came out perfect. They are my husbands favorite treat now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GaryJYum
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Oh My.... I just made these by the recipe and they are delicious. I will make these for Christmas. They are so light and fluffy. I couldn't stop at 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I ate the whole bag o zeppoles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NISAWEST
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Very good instructions and for the most part they were okay maybe a little more sugar in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States