Zeke's Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
Way to go, Zeke! This soup is delicious. I suggest to add a can of corn to your pot. Also, baking the tortillas is much easier, quicker, and healthier than frying. To shread tortillas quickly, stack about 4 at a time and use scissors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
YUM!!!!! 5 forks up!!!!! Good enough to make for company! I added 1TB of olive oil to the broth, what a yummy broth!! I baked my corn tortillas, and garnished the soup with light sour cream, avacados and grated low fat cheddar cheese. A very nice hearty low fat meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
My husband and I loved this soup! It was so good and light but yet packed full of flavor. We even added a dollop of sour cream to ours for a creamier taste. Absolutely delicious soup! Thanks Zeke for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA WRIGHTSMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Peru, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
It definately had some kick to it! I loved it, but it was just too spicey for my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Great Soup!!! I added frozen corn and will probably add some black beans next time. Over all, it has a wonderful flavor. Can't eat just one bowl... Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Zeke, quite possibly the best soup we've ever had. Thank you. I used Ro Tel diced tomatoes with cilantro and lime (added just alittle more fresh lime and cilantro) to the puree mixture. I also added about 1/2 c. corn. We would have given it a 10 if we could have. Beverly from Amarillo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I have always loved El Torito's tortilla soup, until I tried Zeke's. Now it is the ONLY tortilla soup I eat. It is THE BEST !! So if you like eating at resturants dont try this, because once you try this, the rest is...well... sad. thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Ladies and Gentlemen...I have finally found my favorite soup! DELICIOUS! I only modified it a bit - like other's, I added a can of corn, but also threw in a can of spicy black beans. Used one more clove of garlic and made chips out of the tortillas rather than strips. I used all spices generously as I love my food spicy! Perfect for a cool night, or a nice Spring day (such as my case), and even better the next day as leftovers. I highly recommend this for soup lover's - thanks much, Zeke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Thank You, Zeke, for sharing! My husband and I love Tex Mex and we have been missing it ever since we left Texas. This soup is just what we have been looking for. I mixed things up bit by adding 1 can of corn, juice and all. I also boosted all the seasoning, we like lots of seasoning, and added fresh chopped cilantro. The end result was good enough to bring my husband back for 3rds and the neighbors over to see "what smelled so good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This was a great soup, full of flavor, and texture, but I tinkered with it. I only made 1/2 of the recipe as it seemed like enough to feed an army. I added a can of rinsed, drained, black beans and 1 1/2 c. frozen corn for texture. Instead of blending the onions (which bruises them) I fried the onion and garlic in margerine till tender, then I added the water and bouillion. If you like your soup smooth-blend the vegetables. But if you like texture, try it this way. We topped with cheese-but also added a dollop of sour creme. For a southwest recipe-there was a very strong Italian taste, so next time I will cut back on the amount of oregano-but it was good with the full amount, I just wanted more of a southwest taste. The kids loved it (even the picky 1 year old) and half of the recipe fed 7 of us with enough leftovers to feed us another meal. I will definately fix this again. Thanks Zeke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States