Zeke's Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This is a good jumping off recipe, that tastes those from restaurants. I used chicken with bones/skin and boiled it in the water, just as for chicken noodle soup. I strained the broth thru a wire strainer into another pot. I estimated the water to add to make the 15 cups. I wasn't going to measure hot liquid. I didn't have coriander. I coarsely chopped up cilantro (the leaf part of the same plant as coriander) and added it to the bowls of those who wanted it. I didn't have tomatoes with chile peppers, so I chopped up two jalapeño peppers. Fresh just seemed better than canned. My chili powder was hot. Despite my changes, this soup came out mild, which is fine. Some like it mild, some like it hot. Those that liked it hot added hot pepper sauce to their own bowl. The last 5 minutes of the 25 I added a half a bag of frozen sweet corn. Also, I used the little pieces of nachos at the bottom of the bag. How I served it: I put a scoop of rice and a pinch of cilantro into the bowls. I laddled on the soup. On top I put the cheese first and then the chips. Then they added hot pepper sauce. This did make a HUGE amount. But with 7 people, I loved the leftovers. If my two child want Mexican for their graduation party, I will double this recipe. *laughs* As I am writing this, my oldest is going back for his 5th bowl! I think this was a wonderful recipe. But it also leaves room for the chef's imagination and taste difference. *S* Way to go Zeke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This was a great soup, full of flavor, and texture, but I tinkered with it. I only made 1/2 of the recipe as it seemed like enough to feed an army. I added a can of rinsed, drained, black beans and 1 1/2 c. frozen corn for texture. Instead of blending the onions (which bruises them) I fried the onion and garlic in margerine till tender, then I added the water and bouillion. If you like your soup smooth-blend the vegetables. But if you like texture, try it this way. We topped with cheese-but also added a dollop of sour creme. For a southwest recipe-there was a very strong Italian taste, so next time I will cut back on the amount of oregano-but it was good with the full amount, I just wanted more of a southwest taste. The kids loved it (even the picky 1 year old) and half of the recipe fed 7 of us with enough leftovers to feed us another meal. I will definately fix this again. Thanks Zeke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This soup was delicious. I read through the other reviews and added in additional ingredients and removed the tortilla strips altogether (it doesn't need them). I made the recipe for 6 servings instead of 12 and it still made about 8-10 cups worth! I added in 1 can of black beans (drained and rinsed), 1c. frozen corn, lime juice from 1 lime, and 2tbs. cilantro. I reduced the broth/water to 4c. and added in 2, 10oz. cans of Rotel tomatoes/chiles. I served it with the avocado and also a dollop of sour cream. Really yummy & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8K8VT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
YUM!!!!! 5 forks up!!!!! Good enough to make for company! I added 1TB of olive oil to the broth, what a yummy broth!! I baked my corn tortillas, and garnished the soup with light sour cream, avacados and grated low fat cheddar cheese. A very nice hearty low fat meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Excellent. I used chicken broth for the liquid and a pint of homemade salsa (ready-made is fine) instead of the veggies and canned tomatoes. Much easier this way and very delicious. Also used baked corn tortillas rather than fried. Low in fat but full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
Way to go, Zeke! This soup is delicious. I suggest to add a can of corn to your pot. Also, baking the tortillas is much easier, quicker, and healthier than frying. To shread tortillas quickly, stack about 4 at a time and use scissors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
AWSOME! Used 4 cups chicken broth in place of 3 cups wat, still use 15 bullion cubes. This takes a lot of time to make. I am thankful my sister was here to shread chicken for me! or dinner would of been 30 minutes later!Couldn't find ground coriander, but found coriander seeds and put them in my chopper to groung. Worked perfectly! Will make again, an plan to have more time to do so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
WHOA!!!! This was delicious! I added dried cilantro, omitted the avocado and halved the recipe. Added shredded cheddar cheese at serving. This might be a touch watery or liquidy but I am not complaining. I do think adding black beans and maybe a little corn would be a nice touch. This is out of this world! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Zeke, quite possibly the best soup we've ever had. Thank you. I used Ro Tel diced tomatoes with cilantro and lime (added just alittle more fresh lime and cilantro) to the puree mixture. I also added about 1/2 c. corn. We would have given it a 10 if we could have. Beverly from Amarillo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Cut this in half and wished I hadn't it was so good!! Certainly would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States