Zeke's Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Ladies and Gentlemen...I have finally found my favorite soup! DELICIOUS! I only modified it a bit - like other's, I added a can of corn, but also threw in a can of spicy black beans. Used one more clove of garlic and made chips out of the tortillas rather than strips. I used all spices generously as I love my food spicy! Perfect for a cool night, or a nice Spring day (such as my case), and even better the next day as leftovers. I highly recommend this for soup lover's - thanks much, Zeke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I have always loved El Torito's tortilla soup, until I tried Zeke's. Now it is the ONLY tortilla soup I eat. It is THE BEST !! So if you like eating at resturants dont try this, because once you try this, the rest is...well... sad. thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Zeke, quite possibly the best soup we've ever had. Thank you. I used Ro Tel diced tomatoes with cilantro and lime (added just alittle more fresh lime and cilantro) to the puree mixture. I also added about 1/2 c. corn. We would have given it a 10 if we could have. Beverly from Amarillo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Great Soup!!! I added frozen corn and will probably add some black beans next time. Over all, it has a wonderful flavor. Can't eat just one bowl... Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
It definately had some kick to it! I loved it, but it was just too spicey for my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
My husband and I loved this soup! It was so good and light but yet packed full of flavor. We even added a dollop of sour cream to ours for a creamier taste. Absolutely delicious soup! Thanks Zeke for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA WRIGHTSMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Peru, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
YUM!!!!! 5 forks up!!!!! Good enough to make for company! I added 1TB of olive oil to the broth, what a yummy broth!! I baked my corn tortillas, and garnished the soup with light sour cream, avacados and grated low fat cheddar cheese. A very nice hearty low fat meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
Way to go, Zeke! This soup is delicious. I suggest to add a can of corn to your pot. Also, baking the tortillas is much easier, quicker, and healthier than frying. To shread tortillas quickly, stack about 4 at a time and use scissors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-78 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States