Zeke's Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Excellent recipe. I served this for my aunt and uncle. My uncle has been bugging me for the recipe, glad that I found it again. Next time will try corn and black beans, may be mighty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was a wonderful meal. We made a few substitutions....we opted for fresh cilantro instead of the dried oregano and we added a can of black beans and a can of corn. A word to the wise...go easy on the cilantro - otherwise that's all you will taste. We froze our leftovers (since it makes a ton!) and it was even better the next day...and the day after. Thanks for sharing this recipe...we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Made this tonight for the family and everyone loved it....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEXYTRACKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I have had this recipe with the author and it is amazing. Can be halved. Frying the strips makes this recipe 12pts on Weight Watchers, but if the strips are baked, it brings the points down to 8 per serving. Zeke, this is my most favorite of all soups in the world. You are an incredible cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This recipe it great! Use fresh cilantro instead of coriander. The spice combo it perfect! 15 cubes of buillon seems a little too much. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This was a great soup, full of flavor, and texture, but I tinkered with it. I only made 1/2 of the recipe as it seemed like enough to feed an army. I added a can of rinsed, drained, black beans and 1 1/2 c. frozen corn for texture. Instead of blending the onions (which bruises them) I fried the onion and garlic in margerine till tender, then I added the water and bouillion. If you like your soup smooth-blend the vegetables. But if you like texture, try it this way. We topped with cheese-but also added a dollop of sour creme. For a southwest recipe-there was a very strong Italian taste, so next time I will cut back on the amount of oregano-but it was good with the full amount, I just wanted more of a southwest taste. The kids loved it (even the picky 1 year old) and half of the recipe fed 7 of us with enough leftovers to feed us another meal. I will definately fix this again. Thanks Zeke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I can't beleive that I'm giving this only 2 stars when everyone else gave it 5. I'm wondering if something is wrong with my taste buds! I didn't particularly like this soup. I mean, it made enough for an army, so of course I will eat it (it's not that bad) but I don't know what everyone is raving about. I didn't expect a thick soup but it was too watery I thought. (I also added black beans and corn) The flavor was okay. I would not make this again. I didn't add any tortilla strips as I was trying to save some calories, but I'm sure that with those, sour cream, cheese, cilantro, that this soup could taste better. Anyway, I was very disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This recipe was delicious! It was really easy to scale down for 2 people (I thought we'd have leftovers, but it was that good!). Baking the tortillas was really easy, too (I baked them at 425 for about 6 minutes, then kept a careful watch on them). Adding sour cream was the perfect last touch! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was very good, and just the right amount of spice. I used turkey stock I had left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Thank You, Zeke, for sharing! My husband and I love Tex Mex and we have been missing it ever since we left Texas. This soup is just what we have been looking for. I mixed things up bit by adding 1 can of corn, juice and all. I also boosted all the seasoning, we like lots of seasoning, and added fresh chopped cilantro. The end result was good enough to bring my husband back for 3rds and the neighbors over to see "what smelled so good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States