Zeke's Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I have had this recipe with the author and it is amazing. Can be halved. Frying the strips makes this recipe 12pts on Weight Watchers, but if the strips are baked, it brings the points down to 8 per serving. Zeke, this is my most favorite of all soups in the world. You are an incredible cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This recipe it great! Use fresh cilantro instead of coriander. The spice combo it perfect! 15 cubes of buillon seems a little too much. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This was a great soup, full of flavor, and texture, but I tinkered with it. I only made 1/2 of the recipe as it seemed like enough to feed an army. I added a can of rinsed, drained, black beans and 1 1/2 c. frozen corn for texture. Instead of blending the onions (which bruises them) I fried the onion and garlic in margerine till tender, then I added the water and bouillion. If you like your soup smooth-blend the vegetables. But if you like texture, try it this way. We topped with cheese-but also added a dollop of sour creme. For a southwest recipe-there was a very strong Italian taste, so next time I will cut back on the amount of oregano-but it was good with the full amount, I just wanted more of a southwest taste. The kids loved it (even the picky 1 year old) and half of the recipe fed 7 of us with enough leftovers to feed us another meal. I will definately fix this again. Thanks Zeke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I can't beleive that I'm giving this only 2 stars when everyone else gave it 5. I'm wondering if something is wrong with my taste buds! I didn't particularly like this soup. I mean, it made enough for an army, so of course I will eat it (it's not that bad) but I don't know what everyone is raving about. I didn't expect a thick soup but it was too watery I thought. (I also added black beans and corn) The flavor was okay. I would not make this again. I didn't add any tortilla strips as I was trying to save some calories, but I'm sure that with those, sour cream, cheese, cilantro, that this soup could taste better. Anyway, I was very disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This recipe was delicious! It was really easy to scale down for 2 people (I thought we'd have leftovers, but it was that good!). Baking the tortillas was really easy, too (I baked them at 425 for about 6 minutes, then kept a careful watch on them). Adding sour cream was the perfect last touch! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was very good, and just the right amount of spice. I used turkey stock I had left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Thank You, Zeke, for sharing! My husband and I love Tex Mex and we have been missing it ever since we left Texas. This soup is just what we have been looking for. I mixed things up bit by adding 1 can of corn, juice and all. I also boosted all the seasoning, we like lots of seasoning, and added fresh chopped cilantro. The end result was good enough to bring my husband back for 3rds and the neighbors over to see "what smelled so good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Ladies and Gentlemen...I have finally found my favorite soup! DELICIOUS! I only modified it a bit - like other's, I added a can of corn, but also threw in a can of spicy black beans. Used one more clove of garlic and made chips out of the tortillas rather than strips. I used all spices generously as I love my food spicy! Perfect for a cool night, or a nice Spring day (such as my case), and even better the next day as leftovers. I highly recommend this for soup lover's - thanks much, Zeke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I have always loved El Torito's tortilla soup, until I tried Zeke's. Now it is the ONLY tortilla soup I eat. It is THE BEST !! So if you like eating at resturants dont try this, because once you try this, the rest is...well... sad. thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Zeke, quite possibly the best soup we've ever had. Thank you. I used Ro Tel diced tomatoes with cilantro and lime (added just alittle more fresh lime and cilantro) to the puree mixture. I also added about 1/2 c. corn. We would have given it a 10 if we could have. Beverly from Amarillo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States