Zeke's Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Warning: Addicting. Who is the Zeke? I bow to the great Zeke. Love this soup, made several times now, and literally am fine eating it for days without tiring. Tried a slow cooker version, but I wouldn't recommend that as the tastes blended together too much. Make as directed, although I add additional veggies sometimes, and just use tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polishsausag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was good soup. I didn't care for the large amount of oregano but I just reduced the amount the second time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
great flavor! easy recipe for a quick soup to accompany taco/enchelada dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was a great soup! Tortilla soup is one of my favorites and this one did not disappoint. For no specific reason, I did not add carrots and celery, but did add corn & black beans. I also cut back on the oregano, and added about a teaspoon of adobe sauce - added just enough spice and a smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I had a busy day, so I cooked the chicken in the crock pot with chicken broth. When I got home, I shredded the chicken, and went ahead and finished the soup in the crockpot. This soup is sooooo good, it was worth the extra calories to fry the tortilla strips! I served it with shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Everyone I have made this recipe for LOVES it. It is my husbands favorite thing that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I love tortilla soup. Especially the tortilla soup at Cheddars. This fails in comparison. I followed the directions exactly and just found this to be an average recipe. Sorry, but I won't be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is our family's favorite recipe. Anytime we go to a restaurant that has tortilla soup we order it, but it just doesnt compare to this recipe. We add a can of black beans to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This recipe is just as good as the best tortilla soups I've had. And it's served just the way it should be, with avocado, tortilla strips and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My family and I thought this recipe was outstanding. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I made quite a few changes to it. I pan cooked the chicken with salt and pepper while baking the oil brushed tortillas. I replaced the carrots for 1 zucchini, yellow squash, and red bell pepper while also adding a can of black beans. I also replaced the can of regular tomatoes with those including jalapeños to spice it up a bit and only used 1/8 cup of oregano. Topping it off with some fresh cilantro, the avocado, tortilla strips, and a pepper jack/cheddar cheese combination we only had a few servings left after feeding 5 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States