Zeke's Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
great flavor! easy recipe for a quick soup to accompany taco/enchelada dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was a great soup! Tortilla soup is one of my favorites and this one did not disappoint. For no specific reason, I did not add carrots and celery, but did add corn & black beans. I also cut back on the oregano, and added about a teaspoon of adobe sauce - added just enough spice and a smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I had a busy day, so I cooked the chicken in the crock pot with chicken broth. When I got home, I shredded the chicken, and went ahead and finished the soup in the crockpot. This soup is sooooo good, it was worth the extra calories to fry the tortilla strips! I served it with shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Everyone I have made this recipe for LOVES it. It is my husbands favorite thing that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I love tortilla soup. Especially the tortilla soup at Cheddars. This fails in comparison. I followed the directions exactly and just found this to be an average recipe. Sorry, but I won't be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is our family's favorite recipe. Anytime we go to a restaurant that has tortilla soup we order it, but it just doesnt compare to this recipe. We add a can of black beans to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This recipe is just as good as the best tortilla soups I've had. And it's served just the way it should be, with avocado, tortilla strips and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My family and I thought this recipe was outstanding. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I made quite a few changes to it. I pan cooked the chicken with salt and pepper while baking the oil brushed tortillas. I replaced the carrots for 1 zucchini, yellow squash, and red bell pepper while also adding a can of black beans. I also replaced the can of regular tomatoes with those including jalapeños to spice it up a bit and only used 1/8 cup of oregano. Topping it off with some fresh cilantro, the avocado, tortilla strips, and a pepper jack/cheddar cheese combination we only had a few servings left after feeding 5 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I LOVED THIS RECIPE!!! ZEKE...you ROCK! I made the recipe for SIX. My modifications: I added one 14oz can of pinto beans, a whole chicken (skinned) instead of the chicken breasts only, an extra tspn of cumin, 2oz canned diced green chiles, and used the whole can of each: 14oz diced tomatoes and 14oz diced tomatoes with chiles (so as not to throw out the other half of the cans!) Also, I cut the tortillas into strips, sprinkled them with taco seasoning and made them crispy with spray in a non-stick pan(WAY LOWER CALORIES THAN FRYING!!!). What a terrific soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This is a good jumping off recipe, that tastes those from restaurants. I used chicken with bones/skin and boiled it in the water, just as for chicken noodle soup. I strained the broth thru a wire strainer into another pot. I estimated the water to add to make the 15 cups. I wasn't going to measure hot liquid. I didn't have coriander. I coarsely chopped up cilantro (the leaf part of the same plant as coriander) and added it to the bowls of those who wanted it. I didn't have tomatoes with chile peppers, so I chopped up two jalapeño peppers. Fresh just seemed better than canned. My chili powder was hot. Despite my changes, this soup came out mild, which is fine. Some like it mild, some like it hot. Those that liked it hot added hot pepper sauce to their own bowl. The last 5 minutes of the 25 I added a half a bag of frozen sweet corn. Also, I used the little pieces of nachos at the bottom of the bag. How I served it: I put a scoop of rice and a pinch of cilantro into the bowls. I laddled on the soup. On top I put the cheese first and then the chips. Then they added hot pepper sauce. This did make a HUGE amount. But with 7 people, I loved the leftovers. If my two child want Mexican for their graduation party, I will double this recipe. *laughs* As I am writing this, my oldest is going back for his 5th bowl! I think this was a wonderful recipe. But it also leaves room for the chef's imagination and taste difference. *S* Way to go Zeke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States