Zeke's Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This tasted delicious. I am sorry to say I did tweak it a bit based on some left over items I had from Super Bowl apps that I had in my fridge. I don't like to waste items. I halved the recipe to serve to my family of 5. We served it with fish tacos. Everyone had seconds and we had a serving left over. It makes a TON! I used 1/2 a rotisserie chicken which saved on time. I also only used one can of rotel (half recipe called for 1/2 can) that I blended up smooth. I added a 1/2 can of corn and a 1/2 can of red enchilada sauce. I kept the spices the same but cut back on the oregano- my recipe stated 2 TBS. After I put one in, it seemed like a lot so I added only another 1/2 TBS. I think there was too much. No one complained but I thought it was a bit much. I didn't have celery so I added a tsp of celery salt. My family gave it 5 stars.PS- There is no way I am frying tortillas when I have chips at home. LOL- crushed them for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I love this soup! My whole family does :) I use the exact ingredients but I cook it a little different. I cook the the chicken with the water and boullion cubes along with all the seasonings. then I add the blended mix when the chicken is cooked. I do add a can of corn and a can of black beans per suggestions. I also just buy tortilla chips, the really thin kind. It seems like less mess to make the soup in one pot. Thanks Zeke for sharing your wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Fabuloso! I have been looking for a recipe to simulate Chuy's tortilla soup and this is it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia DeVries
Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steph
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This soup was good.. The hubby and kids loved it.. I changed a few things as well I used 15 cups of chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon .i also added a few potatoes ,and a green pepper.. But it was very good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Boiled a whole chicken in enough water covering chicken about 3-4 inches. When done take out of broth. Add rest of ingredients to broth and cook till veggies are nearly done. Shred chicken and add to broth. May need extra broth and/or seasonings. Use your own taste buds. :) I call it veggie-chicken tortilla soup. This was delicious. My husband even liked it, and if he likes it it means it's really good. I put 3 different types of can beans. Didn't have enough of 1 kind. This recipe is easily adjusted so just adjust to your liking:). ENJOY, Thanks Zeke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is a phenomenal recipe. I've been using this since 2007 and it's one of the most requested soups from my family. Make this!! You will NOT be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe! I tweaked it for our style and what we had on hand (homemade broth and the chicken used to make it). The only thing I will change for future batches will be to decrease the oregano significantly and probably use tortilla chips instead of making my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I loved it and so did all my guest compared it to it as "better than restaurant"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauranellieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasco, California, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Love this recipe, have tried in a crockpot as well. Turns out great every time. My daughters always ask me to make it. I do add black beans to it as well. Usually we just crunch up some tortilla chips on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charnelle Gill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States