Zebra Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Good chocolatey cookie, but next time I'll use melted butter instead of the oil. I used a premium quality chocolate and it deserved the rich, buttery taste rather than the flatness of the oil. The dough could have also benefited with the addition of a little salt to heighten flavor, maybe a quarter teaspoon. I didn't roll them in powdered sugar as I wanted a greater contrast between the cookie and the candy kisses. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Great with Caramel kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This is a great party treat. For new years iused this recipe, but for a little zing I melted vanilla wafers and made them funky colores with food coloring. Then I drizzled them on top. It tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahiswright
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Tasty and festive! They rolled into balls easily after being chilled, unlike some cookies which turn into goo in your hands. I couldn't find the white striped kisses, so I used the ones filled with caramel. They still looked good, and I ended up with exactly 48 cookies. I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
WOW!! These were SO good! I used regular milk chocolate hershey kisses, and they complimented the chocolate taste in the cookie so well. Everyone loved them! The BEST cookie I have ever tasted. Crowd pleaser, easy to make.. it goes without saying that I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Excellent! Very eye-appealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I used peppermint kisses with these and they turned out so cute and delicious! I loved the combination of the peppermint with chocolate and they looked great on my Christmas plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My most favorite thing in the world are zebras so wen i found this i got so excited.... Make this recipe... give it 5 stars....its awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonka51996
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I would call it average. I would suggest using butter instead of veg oil and adding 1/4 teaspoon salt like naples34201 said, plus 1/8 teaspoon instant coffee granules for better flavor. I didn't like the texture, it was more cake-like than cookie-like. The taste was chocolately, but plain. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This taste awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States