Zebra Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Good chocolatey cookie, but next time I'll use melted butter instead of the oil. I used a premium quality chocolate and it deserved the rich, buttery taste rather than the flatness of the oil. The dough could have also benefited with the addition of a little salt to heighten flavor, maybe a quarter teaspoon. I didn't roll them in powdered sugar as I wanted a greater contrast between the cookie and the candy kisses. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Great with Caramel kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This is a great party treat. For new years iused this recipe, but for a little zing I melted vanilla wafers and made them funky colores with food coloring. Then I drizzled them on top. It tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahiswright
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Tasty and festive! They rolled into balls easily after being chilled, unlike some cookies which turn into goo in your hands. I couldn't find the white striped kisses, so I used the ones filled with caramel. They still looked good, and I ended up with exactly 48 cookies. I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
WOW!! These were SO good! I used regular milk chocolate hershey kisses, and they complimented the chocolate taste in the cookie so well. Everyone loved them! The BEST cookie I have ever tasted. Crowd pleaser, easy to make.. it goes without saying that I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Excellent! Very eye-appealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I used peppermint kisses with these and they turned out so cute and delicious! I loved the combination of the peppermint with chocolate and they looked great on my Christmas plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My most favorite thing in the world are zebras so wen i found this i got so excited.... Make this recipe... give it 5 stars....its awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonka51996
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I would call it average. I would suggest using butter instead of veg oil and adding 1/4 teaspoon salt like naples34201 said, plus 1/8 teaspoon instant coffee granules for better flavor. I didn't like the texture, it was more cake-like than cookie-like. The taste was chocolately, but plain. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This taste awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States