Zebra Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I used "World Table Chocolate Cookie Thins" found at Wal-Mart, and they worked perfectly. I also plan to experiment with different flavored World Table cookies (lemon, chocolate mint and chocolate caramel) and different extracts in the whipping cream like almond, peppermint and lemon. This is a creamy dessert that isn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1ozarkquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
My mom has been making this for Bday cakes for over 40 yrs. Just made one for my daughters 1st bday last year. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great recipe. Simple, yet looks and tastes like it was a lot of work. I used Anna's chocolate mint thins, a Swedish cookie, I found at my local supermarket. They were on sale, so I thought why not? It was absolutely wonderful. I made it for my Bible study group and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I think this receipie is super easyy! I just love the ingredients which is not much. But now, i neeed to find the wafers. But definately i m going to make it! And it is vege. No eggs needed.Super! Super! Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
if you can't find the chocolate wafers, use oreo cookies they sell them without the cream in the middle too ... or my personal fave graham crackers (use less whipped cream between cookies) it's a gingerbread zebra cake instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is a great take along to potlucks and office parties. I shape it as a double, side-by-side log with the cookies assembled on the diagonal. Then it travels better and can be sliced straight across and still get the zebra effect. Yes, the Famous Wafers are hard to find, but supermarkets nowadays often have request cards at the customer service desk. My dad retired with Nabisco, so when I was a kid Famous Wafers were always available to mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I can't explain why this simple cake is so good, but it just is! Don't question it! I made the original version but sprinkled Starbucks instant coffee over the top instead of grated chocolate. REALLY yummy. For variety the 2nd time around, I used Trader Joe's Cookie Thins which are also a wafer cookie just like the chocolate Nabiscos, but they come in different flavors like lemon and coconut. The coconut crisp wafers are buttery and light and make a superb version of this cake. Something so good is usually not this simple. I'm lovin' it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I was curious about this recipe recipe so I gave it a try. I have to say this was really good, tasted like an ice cream sandwich. Very easy to make for a dessert that has a nice presentation. This would have been five stars but the reason for four stars was because the ingredients were expansive. The only waffers I found were nabisco and they were not cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
So easy and so delicious! I make it just as written and there's never a crumb left! But my one daughter doesn't like chocolate so I made a few with vanilla wafers for her and they were pretty good too. I'm a chocaholic, so I will always prefer the original recipe but for those, like my daughter, who either don't like it or are allergic to it, the vanilla wafers offer a good alternative, though I think I will flavor the whipped cream next time to give it a bit more flavor since it's missing the richness of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Simply delicious! We normally add almond extract or mint extract (orange or lemon, you get the idea) to the whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States