Yuppie Kolcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Excellent! The only revision made was to lessen the amount of oil and almond milk. Thanks so much! Oh, and I veganized it. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made this for St Paddys. I cheated and uses bagged coleslaw mix! Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Really yummy! We will make this again. I didn't cook the cabbage with the potatoes but rather sautéed it with the onion and carrot. I also followed some of the recommendations and used half the milk called for. It was perfect. It was our first time trying Kolcannon and my family loved it. Thanks for sharing Margaret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
What a delicious potato recipe that even got my guys to eat cabbage! The potatoes were creamy and I loved the slight tang from the vinegar. It is a great way to use up left over "coleslaw" in a bag. It paired well with our meatloaf dinner and will definitely be a repeat in our house. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made for RECIPE GROUP. We loved this! I made exactly as written. The only thing I would do differently is use fresh garlic. I sauteed the onion, carrot and cabbage until they were almost caramalized. Then added to the smashed potatoes. Oh, and I used Lactose Free Whole Milk. YUM!!! This is good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
my DH and DD liked this better than i did. i couldn't taste the balsamic vinegar at all in the potatoes, maybe i needed to add more? not sure. i don't know if i will make this again. thanks for the post margaret
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this for recipe group. I used half the milk and was still wishing I had added a little less. I sauteed the cabbage with the veggies since I didn't have a way to do the colander method. The flavor was very good and I thought the balsamic did add to it but I also had to simmer my taters for about 45 min because I used to small of a pot. Definitely on the list to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Recipe Group selection of 1/21/12. I followed most of the recipe, cutting back on the butter and milk as well as using fresh garlic instead of the garlic salt. I liked the addition of the carrot, but I don't see what the balsamic vinegar did for the potatoes. The taste was good, but I prefer to simply saute my cabbage with the onion and garlic and I usually do it in bacon drippings. All in all, I think I will add carrot, but go back to my usual method of preparation. Thanks Margaret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group. I only changed one ingredient: used only 1/2c. milk (it would have been too wet with a whole cup). I cooked it according to the instructions; however, I found the cabbage step to be cumbersome. Next time I would add the cabbage to the skillet of cooked carrots and onions. The Balsamic vinegar in the water did not do much for the flavor although I found I could taste a hint of it in leftovers the next day. For a more prominent vinegar flavor I would add it to the skillet. I did not salt the potato water and was concerned about flavor; however, the garlic salt added at the end provided plenty of flavor enhancement. For potatoes I used Yukon Gold and left the skin on which provided good texture and taste. I left the mashed potatoes a bit lumpy because that is how i like them. I served the kolcannon with bacon bits which I may add in next time. This recipe requires several pans and cooking utensils so be prepared for cleanup afterwards. Overall I like the flavors in the recipe-- how could anything with a stick of butter in it taste bad? I would make it again. Thank you Margaret for the interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Made for recipe group. Recipe was cooked as written, as best I could and ending product was very tasty and unique. All the flavors I was looking for in a different format. Two in one side, very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States