Yummylicious Japanese Beef Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
these are sooo good... i added 1/2 cup of green onion the mashed potatoes... WOW no bread crumbs so i just used flour they turned out WONDERFUL!!!! i love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I make these without soy sauce, but add white pepper and salt to the potato mixture. I, for one, love these with the tonkatsu sauce and fresh cabbage. I used to ask for these for my birthday dinner as a child! I personally never thought I would find this recipe on Allrecipes but I guess that's why it's called "Allrecipes"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My suggestions: 1. Fully caramelize the onions 2. Mix ground beef with seasoning, such as pinch of salt, steak seasoning, garlic powder, parsley 3. Cook ground beef with onions 4. Mix together with the mashed potatoes and season to taste. 5. No need to dredge in flour first, just dip in egg then panko. 6. Don't make the croquettes too large or too thin or they will not hold together. Finally, I baked these on a cooling rack, sprayed with butter to crisp them up. 400 until browned, about 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I loved these. We did use a lot less onion than in the recipe, only about a half of a large onion, but I'm not very fond of a strong onion taste. They didn't taste very Japanese to me, but they were a lot tastier than boring old meatballs and mashed potatoes! I'd definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This is a good basic recipe for croquettes. I grew up eating these as my Japanese mom taught us to use chopsticks before a fork! The only thing I would suggest is to not use flour just drege in egg batter then panko. (plain bread crumbs aren't the same. Panko is a must.) Soy sauce is really not necessary. Green onions and a little pepper to your taste are great. I like to eat these with a little yellow mustard, but the rest of my family uses tonkatsu or the kids use ketchup. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I just made these tonight. They lasted a whole five minutes with my crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My husband couldn't stop eating these! Made a batch for him and a batch for the freezer... These should be good for the bento!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I didn't think of it as a recipe my family would enjoy, nor that I would make it again. However, when I told my family this over dinner, they balked. They thought it was terrific! I had used some leftover mashed potatoes. My husband had made some a few weeks before, getting creative and adding curry powder, and I thought they tasted weird but saved them in the freezer. Didn't work for American flavors but with this dish, I would recommend adding some to your potatoes! I also added garlic and ginger to the ground beef, extra soy, and left out the flour step. The panko was a delicious crust. Guess we'll be adding this to our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Tasty! I had a problem getting them to stay together, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Absolutely scrumptious! Didn't put onion as a friend of mine dislikes onion with a passion, still came out absolutely amazing! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States