Yummylicious Japanese Beef Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
The family loved this! Just like my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Yum! Nice and soft and lighter than meatballs. I'd probably add a bit more soy sauce or something else for a little more kick next time. Ginger? Red pepper flakes or chili sauce? I'll try! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I like it ... a lot. It is the crunch that makes it quite yummylicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Talmadge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
My husband and I thought these were a little bland and my daughter did not like them at all. They didn't really hold together that well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I make these without soy sauce, but add white pepper and salt to the potato mixture. I, for one, love these with the tonkatsu sauce and fresh cabbage. I used to ask for these for my birthday dinner as a child! I personally never thought I would find this recipe on Allrecipes but I guess that's why it's called "Allrecipes"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My suggestions: 1. Fully caramelize the onions 2. Mix ground beef with seasoning, such as pinch of salt, steak seasoning, garlic powder, parsley 3. Cook ground beef with onions 4. Mix together with the mashed potatoes and season to taste. 5. No need to dredge in flour first, just dip in egg then panko. 6. Don't make the croquettes too large or too thin or they will not hold together. Finally, I baked these on a cooling rack, sprayed with butter to crisp them up. 400 until browned, about 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is a way better recipe than the one I made before. These actually turned out, my other ones tasted just like potato pancakes, no flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I loved these. We did use a lot less onion than in the recipe, only about a half of a large onion, but I'm not very fond of a strong onion taste. They didn't taste very Japanese to me, but they were a lot tastier than boring old meatballs and mashed potatoes! I'd definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
my grandmother inlaw makes these and they are extremely good. A few tips for some of the people who didn't think it held up well. Before breading the croquettes chill them for an hour and also instead of flour use japanese panko breadcrumbs. It's a much nicer texture and contrast than flour. All in all it was great recipe, we ate it with a Japanese plum dipping sauce made with umeboshi plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
these are sooo good... i added 1/2 cup of green onion the mashed potatoes... WOW no bread crumbs so i just used flour they turned out WONDERFUL!!!! i love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States