Yummylicious Japanese Beef Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very yummy! For my mix, I chopped 4 potatoes for my mixture, then separated it in 2 bowls. In one bowl- I mixed diced beef and onions, and in the other bowl, corn with a little more pepper. (The corn croquettes were always my favorite while living in Japan.) Then made the patties and such like the recipe instructs. They were both delicious. My boyfriend actually liked the corn one best. Both were topped with Tonkatsu sauce. I found the trickiest part was making a good sized patty, and getting them to not fall apart while doing the egg- and Panko'ing. I'll make these again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCoorishii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
My grandmother used to make this for me when I was a little girl & I have been searching for this recipe for ages! It was very good! I did not dredge the patties in flour before dipping them in egg. Turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Yoshida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This is a good basic recipe for croquettes. I grew up eating these as my Japanese mom taught us to use chopsticks before a fork! The only thing I would suggest is to not use flour just drege in egg batter then panko. (plain bread crumbs aren't the same. Panko is a must.) Soy sauce is really not necessary. Green onions and a little pepper to your taste are great. I like to eat these with a little yellow mustard, but the rest of my family uses tonkatsu or the kids use ketchup. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
these are sooo good... i added 1/2 cup of green onion the mashed potatoes... WOW no bread crumbs so i just used flour they turned out WONDERFUL!!!! i love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
my grandmother inlaw makes these and they are extremely good. A few tips for some of the people who didn't think it held up well. Before breading the croquettes chill them for an hour and also instead of flour use japanese panko breadcrumbs. It's a much nicer texture and contrast than flour. All in all it was great recipe, we ate it with a Japanese plum dipping sauce made with umeboshi plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I loved these. We did use a lot less onion than in the recipe, only about a half of a large onion, but I'm not very fond of a strong onion taste. They didn't taste very Japanese to me, but they were a lot tastier than boring old meatballs and mashed potatoes! I'd definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is a way better recipe than the one I made before. These actually turned out, my other ones tasted just like potato pancakes, no flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My suggestions: 1. Fully caramelize the onions 2. Mix ground beef with seasoning, such as pinch of salt, steak seasoning, garlic powder, parsley 3. Cook ground beef with onions 4. Mix together with the mashed potatoes and season to taste. 5. No need to dredge in flour first, just dip in egg then panko. 6. Don't make the croquettes too large or too thin or they will not hold together. Finally, I baked these on a cooling rack, sprayed with butter to crisp them up. 400 until browned, about 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I make these without soy sauce, but add white pepper and salt to the potato mixture. I, for one, love these with the tonkatsu sauce and fresh cabbage. I used to ask for these for my birthday dinner as a child! I personally never thought I would find this recipe on Allrecipes but I guess that's why it's called "Allrecipes"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
My husband and I thought these were a little bland and my daughter did not like them at all. They didn't really hold together that well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States