Yummylicious Japanese Beef Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
First time try and they were good. However, next time I will use worchester sauce in place of the soy sauce. Will season potatoes and beef with salt, pepper, pepper flakes perhaps. I will also try cooling the mixture before making the croquettes as someone suggested. I found them a little loose and difficult to form into patties. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Absolutely scrumptious! Didn't put onion as a friend of mine dislikes onion with a passion, still came out absolutely amazing! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Add extra soy sauce and sugar, reduce by 1 potato. Don't need to do the flour step. I baked: 375 degrees for 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Delicious! add a lil' corn (kids esp love) and give a pinch of sugar w/soy to ground beef - a splash of mirin or white wine will also enhance the flavor - these make a great grab n go or after school hearty snack - we enjoy once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Tasty! I had a problem getting them to stay together, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I didn't think of it as a recipe my family would enjoy, nor that I would make it again. However, when I told my family this over dinner, they balked. They thought it was terrific! I had used some leftover mashed potatoes. My husband had made some a few weeks before, getting creative and adding curry powder, and I thought they tasted weird but saved them in the freezer. Didn't work for American flavors but with this dish, I would recommend adding some to your potatoes! I also added garlic and ginger to the ground beef, extra soy, and left out the flour step. The panko was a delicious crust. Guess we'll be adding this to our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I was looking for a croquette recipe, like the ones I could get at a Japanese izakaya. These turned out pretty well. I felt like there was a little too much ground beef and onion though, so I cut it down. I also added garlic salt, pepper and cooked the beef and onions together like another reviewer suggested. I had no trouble forming the patties, and I also did not use flour as I like a lighter crust. They stayed together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I spent 2 hours making these, not 30 minutes. They did not look anything like the photo. they fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My husband couldn't stop eating these! Made a batch for him and a batch for the freezer... These should be good for the bento!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I just made these tonight. They lasted a whole five minutes with my crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States