Yummylicious Japanese Beef Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
First time try and they were good. However, next time I will use worchester sauce in place of the soy sauce. Will season potatoes and beef with salt, pepper, pepper flakes perhaps. I will also try cooling the mixture before making the croquettes as someone suggested. I found them a little loose and difficult to form into patties. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Absolutely scrumptious! Didn't put onion as a friend of mine dislikes onion with a passion, still came out absolutely amazing! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Add extra soy sauce and sugar, reduce by 1 potato. Don't need to do the flour step. I baked: 375 degrees for 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Delicious! add a lil' corn (kids esp love) and give a pinch of sugar w/soy to ground beef - a splash of mirin or white wine will also enhance the flavor - these make a great grab n go or after school hearty snack - we enjoy once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Tasty! I had a problem getting them to stay together, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I didn't think of it as a recipe my family would enjoy, nor that I would make it again. However, when I told my family this over dinner, they balked. They thought it was terrific! I had used some leftover mashed potatoes. My husband had made some a few weeks before, getting creative and adding curry powder, and I thought they tasted weird but saved them in the freezer. Didn't work for American flavors but with this dish, I would recommend adding some to your potatoes! I also added garlic and ginger to the ground beef, extra soy, and left out the flour step. The panko was a delicious crust. Guess we'll be adding this to our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I was looking for a croquette recipe, like the ones I could get at a Japanese izakaya. These turned out pretty well. I felt like there was a little too much ground beef and onion though, so I cut it down. I also added garlic salt, pepper and cooked the beef and onions together like another reviewer suggested. I had no trouble forming the patties, and I also did not use flour as I like a lighter crust. They stayed together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I spent 2 hours making these, not 30 minutes. They did not look anything like the photo. they fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My husband couldn't stop eating these! Made a batch for him and a batch for the freezer... These should be good for the bento!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I just made these tonight. They lasted a whole five minutes with my crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States