Yummy Yellow Taters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Very tasty. I used red potatos. Substituted yogurt for the sour cream.Omited the food coloring.My wife and stepdau. both liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
These were the best potatos I ever had. Even my wife (the cook) says these were the best potatos she ever had! We used some basil that my wife grew...yummy. She didn't like the yellow food coloring, but I did and so did the kids. Makes them look buttery. Oh my...we'll never make another potato recipe. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Great mashed potatoes. Very light and creamy. I used thyme instead of basil because it went better with the rest of our dinner... And the 10-star reason I chose this recipe - (based on an actual conversation) -- DH: 'Hey, why are these potatoes yellow?" - ME: 'I don't know.' - DH: 'Did you dye them yellow?' - ME: 'Yes.' - DH: 'Why did you *do* that?’ - ME: 'I didn't *want* to do it, KAYLIVESHERE *told* me to...' - DH: ‘Huh? Who's KAYLIVESHERE?' - ME: 'I don't know.’ - DH: ‘*Why* did she tell you to dye the potatoes yellow??' - ME (smiling): I don't know. She didn't say.' --- Awesome. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Added some salt in the end but these are yummy. First time EVER I have made taters that are not gummy. Thanks for the tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Nice and rich, using half and half. I forewent the food coloring - the yellow butter potaoes I used cast their own nice hue. All in all boiling the potaoes in their own spices lent them nice flavor without obvious add-ins. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These were AWESOME! They were the hit of my Thanksgiving dinner! I made them just the way your suppose to minus the food coloring, but near then end when they were done I about a half cup of cheese, and about a half a jar of Real bacon bits, and they were to die for! I only like instant, i HATE real mashed potatoes but I did them real this time for Thanksgiving, and I'll never go back to instant now because of this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Good potatoes, but couldn't bare to use yellow food coloring. Doesn't need it imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Good mashed potatoes! I thought adding the seasonings to the water gave the potatoes a nice taste. I substituted seasoned salt for regular salt and tripled the amount of garlic. I left out the food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
these were really good. I didnt add food coloring and I used creme instead of milk. My husband and two young sons ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Very tasty! The kids liked the vibrant yellow color! I will be making these often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States