Yummy Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have never, ever in my three decades on Earth liked sweet potatoes or yams, nor did four of my dinner mates. My husband adores candied yams with marshmallows. This recipe worked for us all. I used sweet potatoes (wrapped in foil and baked at 350 for 1-1/2 hours) and added marshmallows to half of the casserole (over the pecans), but otherwise did everything else as written. It was wonderful! The flavor was full and well rounded. The spices and butter melded perfectly and brought out the best part of the sweet potato flavor. I am saving this and will make it throughout the year. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Amazing! I was taking a risk by not doing my and my inlaws traditional marshmellow canned yams hehe but Wow this turned out sooo flavorful and was a huge hit. My boyfriend said he never even like yams until this and had seconds too. Oh and was a sinch to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made these for thanksgiving and they were a huge hit. Only change was i put marshmellows on top. Was very sweet and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
We had this with our Thanksgiving dinner tonight, so delicious. Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have never cared for yams. I made this recipe last year and it is amazing. It now is a Thanksiving tradition in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I thought this was delicious and I don't consider myself much of a yam lover. I baked this for a thanksgiving feast at the school I work at. I chose this recipe because it looked easy and it was. I have only made 2 or 3 recipes from scratch. (I'm only 22) Everyone just loved this dish and several of my student's parents have asked for the recipe. I plan to make it again this Thanksgiving and every Thanksgiving from now on! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is one of the standards for Thanksgiving in my family. The ONLY thing I do different is put marshmallows on the top instead of the pecan topping. But I am thinking this year I may put those marshmallows on top of the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
very good recipe, sweet & rich. (was my first attempt at a sweet potato/yam casserole, glad it turned out so well!) i did about half the recipe, using 4 smallish sweet potatoes and an 8x8 pyrex dish. peeling the microwaved sweet potatoes was a bit tricky for me, parts of the skin didn't want to come off, next time i might try peeling, cubing and boiling them instead! could have used a few more potatoes to fill up the dish, but i made plenty of topping, and the combo is delicious! i chopped the pecans and mixed them with the brown sugar, placed on top, then drizzled with butter. i added a splash of vanilla to the potato mixture, and left out the nutmeg and allspice, but it still was great! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
It was very good. I would like it a little creamier next time. I think I am going to add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and 1/2 can of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this for thanks giving. I personally didnt even try it, I was too stuffed, but my family said it was DELICIOUS. Very sweet, like sweet potatoe pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States