Yummy Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This recipe is very close to one I make every year and I plan to make it ahead and freeze. There are not to many comments from folks who made the casserole ahead and froze it. Are there any problems there? Drynes? Defrosting and reheating should be included in the main recipe! I had to search the Thanksgiving menu for these instructions. I am searching for THE BEST make ahead recipes so I can enjoy my 20 Thanks giving guests who return year after year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The hit of every Thanksgiving dinner I bring it to! I actually use yams from a can and it works just fine. Just drain most of the syrup before beating. This one will go in my Thanksgiving lineup for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
this had too much cinammon, nutmeg, allspice flavor to it. Not a keeper at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I love this recipe. I've also made it adding well-drained crushed pineapple and shredded coconut. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I tried to make this in the microwave and that is when things went terribly wrong for me. After cleaning up the horrible mess I made trying that I cooked the yams the old fashioned way and then followed the rest of the directions how they are written. What made that mishap worth it was how everyone loved the dish, even those who hate yams. My nephew hates most everything but had seconds of this and then asked for more. Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I served this for Easter and everyone loved it. I was able to get my youngest son (who eats about 6 items total) to try it without the topping and he asked for seconds! Yes, it does freeze well. I defrosted mine in the frig for 2 days. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This recipe was a huge hit for the holidays. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bobbiejean1
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This casserole did somewhat taste like pumpkin pie. It's a very sweet good looking dish, but it did not go over well with our family this christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have never liked yams or yam dishes, until now. I made this dish for Thanksgiving, not knowing it would go so fast. For Christmas, I am definitely doubling this!! Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is a easy and tasty Yam treat that is almost like eating dessert. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHMOOZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States