Yummy Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
This is a quick and easy sweet potato casserole, especially light on cleanup, as you microwave the sweet potatoes to begin with. Everyone in my family enjoyed this very much as a Thanksgiving side dish: we all felt it tasted like pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I omitted the eggs and butter from the yam mixture and used orange juice instead to make it a little more healthy (and add a little extra citrus kick). It was really great this way, not heavy at all. I did however use the 1/4 melted butter for the topping. It was really tasty and I will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Thank you for all your great reviews. I love to cook, and now do food photography! This dish is still one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I have tried alot of yam recipes, but this is by far the best one. Even my children loved it too, and they don't even like yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This recipe is easy and yummy. Everyone thinks its dessert! Every Thanksgiving my family wants me to make it and I don't mind except there are never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I am not a yam lover - I actually hate them! I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. I cannot have another thanksgiving without serving this dish. It is the most delicious dish I've ever had and this is the ONLY way I will ever eat yams. Thank you to Liza for submitting such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Excellent. I had been looking for a dish like mom's "yam puff" and had tried many things. Well she is here this year, but couldn't find her recipe and I found this. It is BETTER than mom's yam puff!!! Great recipe. I think this will be a holiday treat for many years to come. BTW, my 4 yr old would never try yams before, but she kept taking small bites of this and saying it tasted like pumpkin pie;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIPSTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I made this today for Thanksgiving! It was absolutely scrumptious. It did indeed taste a little like pumpkin pie. The nuts on top were a very nice touch. The ingredients are very well balanced in this recipe and make for a wonderful variation of the traditional candied yams. It was sweet but not too sweet. It was definitely the hit of the party today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Yam haters all agree! This is the bomb! Very easy to make and I love the ability to prepare earlier and freeze. A time saver and a delicious side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Very easy and terrifically tasty. In lieu of the microwaving...I boiled the yams until soft although it did take a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States