Yummy Vegan Pesto Classico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING and had plenty of accolades from non-vegan friends/family! FYI, I'd go easy on the salt in the pesto itself and make sure you salt the pasta while boiling. Because it's a vegan recipe, you want to drain the boiling water from the pasta but not rinse. The starch will be good to 'hold' the pesto. So, if you have more 'salty' pasta, you'll definitely want to make sure there's less salt in the pesto. Just a tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
It was super yummy! I used a live basil plant that I bought at the local health food store. I have made this two times and can't wait to try a new variation suggested by the other reviewers. Thank you, CandiedViolet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made angle hair pasta with this pesto.added sauteed mash room, asparagus and Spanish.I was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this but with the following changes: I used walnuts instead of pine nuts, I used only 1/3 cup of olive oil, and I added the juice of 1/2 a lemon. Tasted just as great as non-vegan pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is, hands down, the best vegan pesto I have ever made, and I have tried many, many vegan pesto recipes. The flavor balance is perfect! This will be my go to pesto recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is amazingly delicious. My husband asked me after dinner when I'm making this again :) Thank you so much. This also introduced me to the nutritional yeast ingredient, which I think I'll use a lot more now that my husband is not having milk products (which may be making his allergies to trees, dust mites ... much worse). God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I just need to let you know that this is my favorite sauce and I make it every summer a couple times when our basil comes in--it really does freeze AMAZINGLY! People rave about this pesto and say it's easily the best they've ever tasted--vegan or regular! Even my 5 yr old son loves it! I iwhs I could give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I love it! I added juice from half a lemon and made it a Yummy Vegan Lemon Pesto Classico. This is my first attempt at pesto and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I am on week three of a plant based diet. I was a little skeptical to try this recipe, b/c I didn't think pesto was pesto without cheese. This is AMAZING! My husband even loved it...and he loves cheese. I ran out of basil, so like another reviewer...I added kale. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
super good! made pasta w/ sweet potato, broccoli, yellow squash and onion. tossed w/ pesto...yum. tripled the recipe and froze 2- 1/2 pint jars for giving away or later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States