Yummy Vegan Pesto Classico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this but with the following changes: I used walnuts instead of pine nuts, I used only 1/3 cup of olive oil, and I added the juice of 1/2 a lemon. Tasted just as great as non-vegan pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is, hands down, the best vegan pesto I have ever made, and I have tried many, many vegan pesto recipes. The flavor balance is perfect! This will be my go to pesto recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is amazingly delicious. My husband asked me after dinner when I'm making this again :) Thank you so much. This also introduced me to the nutritional yeast ingredient, which I think I'll use a lot more now that my husband is not having milk products (which may be making his allergies to trees, dust mites ... much worse). God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I just need to let you know that this is my favorite sauce and I make it every summer a couple times when our basil comes in--it really does freeze AMAZINGLY! People rave about this pesto and say it's easily the best they've ever tasted--vegan or regular! Even my 5 yr old son loves it! I iwhs I could give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I love it! I added juice from half a lemon and made it a Yummy Vegan Lemon Pesto Classico. This is my first attempt at pesto and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I am on week three of a plant based diet. I was a little skeptical to try this recipe, b/c I didn't think pesto was pesto without cheese. This is AMAZING! My husband even loved it...and he loves cheese. I ran out of basil, so like another reviewer...I added kale. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
super good! made pasta w/ sweet potato, broccoli, yellow squash and onion. tossed w/ pesto...yum. tripled the recipe and froze 2- 1/2 pint jars for giving away or later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We're making this for some family members who are vegan/vegatarian .. How come ours turned out reddish-brown, and not green like traditional pesto (or at least pesto as I know it).. It tasted yummy without the pasta and we'll make it again in two days for a group of 17.. mG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Light tasty and a hit with my family! We will not be buying store brand again. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Seriously some of the best pesto I have ever tasted! I kept the recipe raw and didn't toast the pine nuts and it came out great! Nutritional yeast is an amazing substitute and I think may even taste better than parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States