Yummy Vegan Pesto Classico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I used spinach rather than basil, This was fantastic! I plan on making many more batches of this. I'ld like to play around with some different nuts , Walnuts, sunflower seeds to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Just made it tonight and it's a hit. I don't quite recall what dairy-based pesto tastes like but this was quite delicious and will last us for a little bit. I ended up using more than a "bunch of basil leaves" by adding an additional generous handful of spinach. I'm sure this recipe would fare well with any substituting of leafy greens for more nutrition. I also squeezed juice from half of a lemon into the food processor - makes for a slightly smoother mixture with that perfect amount of acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Delicious! Only suggestion would be to buy some extra basil just in case you feel it needs it. I definitely will be putting more next time I make it (a bunch is a pretty variable quantity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Amazing pesto. I did just as the recipe said and it turned out great. We used it as a base on a pizza. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING and had plenty of accolades from non-vegan friends/family! FYI, I'd go easy on the salt in the pesto itself and make sure you salt the pasta while boiling. Because it's a vegan recipe, you want to drain the boiling water from the pasta but not rinse. The starch will be good to 'hold' the pesto. So, if you have more 'salty' pasta, you'll definitely want to make sure there's less salt in the pesto. Just a tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
It was super yummy! I used a live basil plant that I bought at the local health food store. I have made this two times and can't wait to try a new variation suggested by the other reviewers. Thank you, CandiedViolet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made angle hair pasta with this pesto.added sauteed mash room, asparagus and Spanish.I was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this but with the following changes: I used walnuts instead of pine nuts, I used only 1/3 cup of olive oil, and I added the juice of 1/2 a lemon. Tasted just as great as non-vegan pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is, hands down, the best vegan pesto I have ever made, and I have tried many, many vegan pesto recipes. The flavor balance is perfect! This will be my go to pesto recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is amazingly delicious. My husband asked me after dinner when I'm making this again :) Thank you so much. This also introduced me to the nutritional yeast ingredient, which I think I'll use a lot more now that my husband is not having milk products (which may be making his allergies to trees, dust mites ... much worse). God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States