Yummy Vegan Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Egg replacer is just another starch-usually potato. You could just use 5 T. cornstarch total, instead. You wouldn't put a starch in hot liquid, thats why it's coming out lumpy-wisk the starch in cold milk or creamer. I used chocolate soy milk, and 3 T. cocoa, and agave syrup instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I to try to consume as little dairy as possible not because I'm lactose intollerant, but because dairy is not healthy for human consumption so this reciepe is perfect and one would never know that it's non-dairy! It's great and soooo chocolatly and rich. It's more chocolatey than pudding packed w/ dairy. I have made it a few times now and usually make a large bowl that lasts two days or so. My husband & friends have tried it more than once and they all agree, it's fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I have made this twice with soy milk instead of the creamer, and it turned out just fine. I also slightly reduced the cornstarch and egg substitute for a slightly more liquidy pudding. If you'd like to try a butterscotch pudding, replace the chocolate with about one or two teaspoons of butterscotch extract. This turned out very nice when I tried it, just check the extract before you buy it because many times butterscotch is not vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I used silken tofu instead of the soy creamer in a panic when I could not find it a day I had promised to bring in a vegan dessert to a party! It worked just as well and had a lot less fat content than the soy creamer. My only advice would be to put the tofu in a blender or food processor to grind up any remaining chunks. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This is the best cornstarch, vegan pudding recipe I have ever tried - and it is so easy and nearly foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
this is so yummi, and very easy. Fantastic recipe. I didnt even tell my family is was vegan (i am the only one that is) no one even knew the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This is soooo easy and so incredible. I have made pudding before and it's been good, but this was great! People look at vegan and get turned off, but I have found especially w/ deserts that vegan usually tasts the same as w/ dairy. The only difference between this recipe and a standard good chocolate pudding recipe is the soy creamer. Good dark chocolate does not have dairy as a rule. I used Wholefoood's dark chocolate chips in their bulk section because they are sooo good. One more thing, don't put the cornstarch in the pot of boiling liquid, but rather put it in before boiling and stir till dissolved. This will prevent it from clumping from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I totally agree with the last reviewer. This is great, i'm eating it right now. It's sooo chocolatey and rich, yet not overwhelmingly. It's perfect chocolate pudding. Dairy is so bad for people contrary to popular belief, so this is perfect, a dairyless pudding and one would never know if they weren't told.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Tasted great! Cooked it for my dad who has high cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I had to make this recipe twice before I got it right, like other reviewers I ended up with rice size lumps in the finished product the first time. The problem came with mixing the egg powder too quickly with the hot mixture, basically causing scrambled eggs. They were impossible to get rid of, but the second time I was more carefull, and the finished product was chocolatey and smooth. Easy, tasty and dairy free..........give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States