Yummy Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KissTheChefette
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Only used 1 stick of butter (1/2C) and 28 oz of tots. I also put all of the cheese called for on top (not mixed in) and omitted potato chips (put under broiler for about 5 mins to crisp up cheese). Before putting in the broiler, I sprinkled the top with garlic powder, salt & pep. Also added about 2 tbs of french onion dip that was sour cream based for some oomph. Even my casserole snob/exec chef bf loved it...... which means ALOT in this house! Next time I may try to crisp up the tots first since it was kind of mushy, but that is just a minor revamp, that's truly not necessary bc this is great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
My new favorite recipe! So good, I could have eaten the whole thing myself! I used a little more cheese because I'm a cheese lover, and a little more salt, and on top I used french onion sunchips. LOVED IT! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Oh this stuff is good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I thought this recipe was wonderful. It reminded me of everything you'd want on a baked potato. My kids loved it and I absolutely adore it too! I use PAM to grease the pan and that worked just fine....also, cut the butter back. It gets too greasy with the original amoutn. I've made it a couple of times and the second time I made a couple of changes to it and it still tasted the exact same. Instead of melted butter, I used about 3-4 T. of country crock (quicker and I was just throwing this together). Also, I was out of cheddar and used Mozzarella. It was equally as wonderful as when making it with cheddar. This is a great, quick, throw together type of recipe. I think it could be modified in many ways - my husband said bacon would be good in it...also, I've thought about broccoli as well. Anyway, great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is a great basic recipe that you can easily tweak to your own tastes. I recommend, as a lot of people did that you reduce the amount of butter to a couple tablespoons otherwise it gets soggy. Also use a high quality sour cream, so that its not watered down. I tried it originally as written. The second time, I reduced the butter and added garlic. Instead of a regular onion, I tried green onions and did not saute' them and added two cloves of garlic. Just mixed everything together. And I used Ritz crackers instead of chips. It was really delicious. My next time I'm going to go back to the regular onion and try adding ortega chilis. Thank you Jana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was good - but way too rich. And that's after I cut the butter out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is so DELICIOUS!!! I added a little more salt, but other than that it was perfect! We made it as a side for our ham dinner when we had company over. Everyone raved about how good it was and wanted the recipe! My husband is already asking when I will make it again. I don't see how someone could find it bland,it's not supposed to be spicy. Very flavorful in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is not for the calorie counter, the restricted sodium diet, or the low cholesterol diet. That said, it is delicious! I added celery and chopped mushrooms to the saute, and 1/2 can of Fiesta Nacho Cheese soup. I used one can each of Cream of Mushroom and Cream of Chicken. (Doubled the recipe for a big crowd). I would not add salt to this recipe, the chips on the top add plenty. We had this for our Easter dinner, big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good. And there are so many ways to play with this kind of dish. I use cream of broccoli cheese soup and fresh, steamed broccoli florets and top with french fried onions. Good way to get your greens too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This ones a keeper! Made this a few times for parties and will definitely keep this in my go-to's pile. We served at a turkey fry as a side item. I added chives and crumbled up cooked bacon to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef_Tejas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States