Yummy Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is a great basic recipe that you can easily tweak to your own tastes. I recommend, as a lot of people did that you reduce the amount of butter to a couple tablespoons otherwise it gets soggy. Also use a high quality sour cream, so that its not watered down. I tried it originally as written. The second time, I reduced the butter and added garlic. Instead of a regular onion, I tried green onions and did not saute' them and added two cloves of garlic. Just mixed everything together. And I used Ritz crackers instead of chips. It was really delicious. My next time I'm going to go back to the regular onion and try adding ortega chilis. Thank you Jana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Snelling, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
WAYYYYY too much pepper! My mouth is on fire! Maybe a TEASPOON instead of a tablespoon. I'm frustrated because now dinner is ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
this was a great recipe!! I only had minced onion on hand, and i reduced the butter down to bout a half cup... turned out great! not too greasy, and the topping was perfect! It was an excellent choice for a topping.. excellent flavor! Kids loved it and wanted seconds! =) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
So good! Perfect for potlucks. I used 1 stick of butter and Kettle Cooked Creamy Mediteranian Herb chips that I had on hand. Turned out great! So quick and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Added a little ground turkey and turkey bacon -- AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Great recipe..u.sed same ingredients but made it healthier by using only 1/2 sup butter, non fat sour cream,and low fat cream of mushroom soup.Lved it an felt better about eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I give this 5 stars with some small changes. I put only 1/4 cup of butter in this and it was still delicious and not at all dry. I added turkey sausage and used low fat sour cream and topped it off with crushed Ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was really good! I added crumbled bacon, but followed the recipe otherwise. The whole family really enjoyed it- much easer than peeling potatoes, cubing, boiling, etc. to make potatoes au gratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
It was just ok for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I cut the recipe in half, used some leftover creamed corn on the bottom of a 9x11 inch glass casserole dish. excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States