Yummy Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This will be my "go to" potato casserole recipe! I used only 1 stick of butter and I fried the onions in that, but I'm gonna take it down to a total of 1/4c butter. I also did not put the potato chips on top, it didn't seem to be missing anything. And I of course used the whole 2c bag of sharp cheddar cheese, why have only a 1/2c left in your fridge:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pshropshall
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
We have made this a couple of times now & it has quickly become a favorite dish. I omit the onions, use half the amount of butter and sprinkled the top with cheese & bread crumbs instead of chips. This recipe is easily changed up to include other ingredients...we have added a can of corn and could easily add any other veggie or meat of choice. Yum!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pshropshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Oh my, this is pure heaven in a dish! I mean this is the definition of comfort food. This is my new favorite staple of breakfast, brunch, and dinner. It's pure wonder. My husband loved it! What a wonderful treat on a cold winter day. To be honest with you I don't even know if I followed the recipe to a T, and I didn't have cheddar cheese so I used mozarella and it was still fabulous. Also I used regular ridged chips, not sour cream and onion. Fantastic. A++, thanks Jana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
very good everyone finished their plate. I loved the chips on top but i don't think that the salt is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was good - but way too rich. And that's after I cut the butter out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Very tasty! Modified it by adding cooked chicken breasts (diced), broccoli and roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup. Also used a parmesian/romano blend cheese with the cheddar. Next time will use 1/4cp of butter and wont add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is literally SO full of fat and calories that my husband and I couldn't even finish the first serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is a great basic recipe that you can easily tweak to your own tastes. I recommend, as a lot of people did that you reduce the amount of butter to a couple tablespoons otherwise it gets soggy. Also use a high quality sour cream, so that its not watered down. I tried it originally as written. The second time, I reduced the butter and added garlic. Instead of a regular onion, I tried green onions and did not saute' them and added two cloves of garlic. Just mixed everything together. And I used Ritz crackers instead of chips. It was really delicious. My next time I'm going to go back to the regular onion and try adding ortega chilis. Thank you Jana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
WAYYYYY too much pepper! My mouth is on fire! Maybe a TEASPOON instead of a tablespoon. I'm frustrated because now dinner is ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
this was a great recipe!! I only had minced onion on hand, and i reduced the butter down to bout a half cup... turned out great! not too greasy, and the topping was perfect! It was an excellent choice for a topping.. excellent flavor! Kids loved it and wanted seconds! =) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States