Yummy Taco Salad Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This tasted pretty good. My brother made something very similar over the holidays. I though, made it much healthier and changed it a little to what I had in the house to use up. As I was reducing the ingredients I used a 9x9 pan. I used no fat low sodium mashed beans, for the sour cream I used a 5.3 oz container of non fat plain Greek yogurt which I mixed 1 Tblsp approximately of Penzeys taco seasoning (reducing that layer to a 1/3). I like olives, but others don't so I left them out. For the cheese layer, I only did about 1/2 cup of small chopped reduced fat cheddar and jack cheese blend I had in a block. Lastly, I replaced the green onion with about 3 tblsp. of very finely minced white sweet onion. Everything else I left the same. After tasting it, I thought it had a good flavor. However, I found my tweak of changing the onion, to what I had on hand, a bit crunchy. So, to save it, I popped it under the broiler on low for about 10-11 minutes. It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
BIG hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I loved this! unfortunately I couldn't use avocado with it, but it still tastes amazing. I also didn't use any peppers or olives but that's because I don't like those. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Recipe tasted okay, I was a little concerned about the MSG in the recipe. Homemade seasoning would have made it much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Can't go wrong with this popular dip! One of the favorites at my recent taco party. Thank you for posting, JWEARY15!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
As described, this is a yummy taco salad dip and easy to assemble! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I've been making this dip for years, it actually gets invited to parties before I do. I mix some salsa in with the refried beans before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
made this for a teachers luncheon....no substitutions what so ever. gone in minutes....Delicious.....thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have made this dip many many times over...the only change I make - is in the avocado layer is add a bit of Cayanne Pepper for a little punch and I also seed the tomatoes before I chop them or they tend to be really runny and wet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorroth1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
So simple and so good. My husband wanted seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States