Yummy Taco Salad Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I give this recipe 5 stars ONLY if the lemon juice is substituted for lime juice and a little chopped onion is added to make the "guacamole" layer taste like real guacamole. It is very simple to make and tastes very good if done this way. The lemon juice just makes it taste like lemon flavored avacado instead of guacamole so Do try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I gave this 4 stars because this is a real good taco dip...But please leave out the avocados..everyone at the party i took this to said it ruined a great dip.And they were scraping them off...had several people tell me that had I not added them,this would have been wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
We've been making this for years-we call it Mt. Diablo Dip. Its very versatile-you can add or subtract toppings and seasoning to suit your tastes. I always doctor up the beans stirring in a little garlic powder and some extra salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
My guests LOVED this recipe. I did make a few changes as follows: For the avocado, I made a guacalome recipe and put that in it's place. I also added a drained can of Mexican Corn and black beans I also added a layer of shredded lettuce to the top under the cheese. It could have been a whole meal in itself! Wonderful! I'll keep this one handy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flatwoods, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This one is a classic that never fails to please. I made mine in a pyrex baking dish that was about 10"x10" and I felt as though 16 oz of cheese was a bit too much (I'd already grated a pound so I put it all on), I think it really depends on how big the surface area your dish of choice is. Also, I would definitly suggest seeding your tomatoes before dicing them, it will prevent the dip from getting wet and it will keep a lot better. This is one of those recipes I can never stop myself from eating too much of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Very good taco dip, I did change just a few things. I added lettuce to the top, and I used lime juice with the avacados. I took this to a party and it was the first to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I've been making this dip for years, it actually gets invited to parties before I do. I mix some salsa in with the refried beans before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I have made this for years and people absolutely love it. As for leaving out the avocados...no can do! That makes it yummier. My family's version adds 1/4 cup of Mayo to the Sour cream mix...it gives it a nice tangy flavor!! Diced black olives make this extra yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin
Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I used store bought (fresh) guacamole instead of the avocados and it was delicious. However, after being refrigerated for a few hours, there was quite a bit of juice that I had to drain off before serving. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I've been making my Seven Layer Taco Dip this way for years and it is always a huge hit. I think it is less heavy than the versions with cream cheese. I serve it in a 9-10 inch round, glass quiche dish and the presentation is pretty. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States