Yummy Taco Salad Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I give this recipe 5 stars ONLY if the lemon juice is substituted for lime juice and a little chopped onion is added to make the "guacamole" layer taste like real guacamole. It is very simple to make and tastes very good if done this way. The lemon juice just makes it taste like lemon flavored avacado instead of guacamole so Do try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I gave this 4 stars because this is a real good taco dip...But please leave out the avocados..everyone at the party i took this to said it ruined a great dip.And they were scraping them off...had several people tell me that had I not added them,this would have been wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
Love this dip! I like to add a bit of lettuce to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I've been making this same recipe for years. I add fresh cilantro and just a squeeze of lime juice to the avocado. No one ever asks me to leave this layer out! Then I sprinkle the cheese over the sour cream layer and arrange the vegetables in rows along the top of the cheese. This presentation draws the newbies in. Once they taste it, they are converted! Definitely tastes better well chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETGAL2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
We've been making this for years-we call it Mt. Diablo Dip. Its very versatile-you can add or subtract toppings and seasoning to suit your tastes. I always doctor up the beans stirring in a little garlic powder and some extra salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
My roommate introduced me to this exact recipe years ago and I've loved it since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I used store bought (fresh) guacamole instead of the avocados and it was delicious. However, after being refrigerated for a few hours, there was quite a bit of juice that I had to drain off before serving. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I have made this for years and people absolutely love it. As for leaving out the avocados...no can do! That makes it yummier. My family's version adds 1/4 cup of Mayo to the Sour cream mix...it gives it a nice tangy flavor!! Diced black olives make this extra yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin
Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I've been making this for a long time ande everyone always loves it. Instead of mixing avocado and lemon, I just use guacamole as one of the layers. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Very good taco dip, I did change just a few things. I added lettuce to the top, and I used lime juice with the avacados. I took this to a party and it was the first to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States